Another one for the ladies: DivaCup review

Seriously–to any male readers out there, this post is going to be like my review of the Instead Softcup. So unless you’re interested in reading reviews of feminine hygiene products, I suggest you skip this one. You’ve been warned.

Last month, I had the period from hell. It came early and lasted about three weeks, and as far as I can tell it was all because of the birth control pill I was taking. As soon as I stopped taking it, my period ended (I guess that’s one way to figure out that you might be better served taking a different pill). The only thing that made those three weeks mildly bearable was my DivaCup. My goodness, I can’t even tell you how relieved I was to have that thing! I mean, a 3-week-long period. Do you even know how many tampons and pads that equals?

Diva Cup review

Image via alittleadrift.com

Back when I wrote my Softcup review, I felt like I wasn’t ready for the full menstrual cup experience. In spite of reading hearing nothing but rave reviews, I couldn’t get past the idea of having to empty out a cup of my period blood every 12 hours or so. And to be honest, my Softcup experience didn’t really help convert me–with the inevitable noises and messes that seemed to be part and parcel of the Softcup, I figured something like the DivaCup would be completely out of the question. But as time passed and I grew more and more tired of always struggling to make sure my pads weren’t bunching and shifting around overnight, forgetting to throw a couple extra tampons in my bag, and just dealing with the discomfort that tampons have always caused me, I decided I might as well give the DivaCup a try.

So, what’s to love about the DivaCup, you ask? Well, only everything. For example:

  • I was able to insert it correctly the very first time I tried it. By comparison, I never got the hang of the Softcup.
  • Once in place, this thing stays where it is. Not only that, but you really don’t feel it at all.
  • Removal isn’t nearly as difficult or gross as you’d think. In fact, it’s a pretty simple, quick, and straightforward process.
  • You can have complete confidence in it. I never felt good enough about the Softcup to wear it during a run or intense workout, but I’ve run 11-mile training runs and made it through 60-minute Doonya classes without the slightest problem from my DivaCup. This is a pretty big deal for me. My period doesn’t have to be a source of inconvenience in my exercise routine!
  • You can wear it for up to 12 hours at a time so no more annoying overnight pads!
  • You pay a bit more up-front than you would for a box of tampons (the average cost of a DivaCup is about $40, but I got mine for less on Amazon), but in the long run you save a ton of money because you cut down so significantly on your various period paraphernalia.
  • There’s no risk of TSS.
  • It’s great for traveling. All you have to pack is your DivaCup and you’re all set.

I know, I probably sound like I’m being paid to say all this. I swear I’m not! I bought the DivaCup with my own money, and all opinions are my own. And of course, there are a couple downsides. You end up having to wash your hands a lot. Once before you insert or remove, and then of course once after. Just be prepared for drier-than-usual skin. You also have to do some planning when it comes to where and when you’ll use the bathroom. If it’s possible, you’ll want to avoid having to remove or insert your cup when you’re in a public place. You don’t have to wash the cup every time you empty it (although if you’re not going to wash it, you should wipe it out), but you really should if you have the opportunity. Maybe not the best thing to do in the sink at work. As with any cup-style product, you’ve got to be pretty comfortable with your lady parts. The DivaCup works by creating a seal around the cervix, and in order to remove it, you have to break that seal. And unlike the Softcup, you can’t wear the DivaCup during sex. Personally, I have no problem with that, but those who like the Softcup for that reason should take note about this difference.

To me, all the good things about the DivaCup far outweigh any of the negatives, and I’m going to go ahead and declare myself a convert. I am now part of that cult of women who consider their menstrual cups miracle products that forever changed their lives and liberated them from the tyranny of their periods. Join us.

2 comments

    1. I mean, someone’s gotta talk about it, right? You should definitely try it. It’s really not an exaggeration when I say I really, really love it.

Leave a comment