Screen shot 2012-01-30 at 8.15.46 PM

Monday Run-down: January 30

This has been a long, frustrating day. I spent many hours staring at an Excel spreadsheet, I have to restart a knitting project that I think I’ve restarted about 10 times now (that’s a conservative estimate), and I’ve been having some bad body image flare-ups lately. I need a good night’s sleep and a nice run in the morning. How fortunate is it that that’s exactly what I have planned?

According to the email Dailymile sent me this morning, my training last week was fantastic! Here’s what it ended up looking like:

I did some yoga, did some running, and had an overall good time. On Sunday, I tried out a new pair of shoes I bought myself recently (more on that later). I didn’t do any strength training, but I did come across what looks like a good plan that will provide me with the structure I’ve been lacking up until now. It also accounts for bodyweight exercises, which is key for me since I don’t have any weights on hand.

And now for a look at the week ahead. I ran a total of 16 miles last week, so I’m looking to increase to about 17 or 18. This is going to be a pretty busy week, so getting my morning running time in is going to be super important. Here’s what I’m aiming for:

Monday: rest

Tuesday: 4 miles

Wednesday: 4 miles

Thursday: 4 miles, strength

Friday: rest

Saturday: 6 miles

Sunday: Wild card! (and strength)

I plan to add some yoga in there, as well.

To be honest, it’s a little bit weird to be running without a set goal in mind. I mean, ultimately the goal is to build my base mileage, but some days I feel a little bit aimless. It’s been a long time since I haven’t been under the stress of having an event to train for, and I’m just getting used to it, I guess. It’s especially strange to realize that this is something I have to get used to. I’m sure that as long as I stay consistent, it will start to feel more and more natural. Just in time to start training for something!

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 comments

  1. You should be proud of that week! I recently switched to swimming (not entirely voluntary given my leg misalignment), and love it. One of the best parts is I’m not pressured by a mileage ago. I just swim when I can, as long as I want. You’ll get used to it I’m sure 🙂

    1. Swimming is great! I swam competitively for a long time, and now it’s a form of exercise I really enjoy. The only problem is how hard it can be to find an indoor pool. I’m glad it’s working for you, and that you’ve found something that works without aggravating your injury!

Leave a Reply

