Starting from Here

Has anyone else picked up on the anti-resolution movement that seems to have formed over the past few days? It seems like everywhere I look I’m reading posts and tweets (well, I guess I’m only looking on the Internet, honestly) about how resolutions are out and 2012 is the year that you should just live your life. Maybe this happens every year and I just never noticed it before? I don’t know.

Resolution

Image by sneeu via Flickr

Well, I don’t really have any resolutions, but I do (as usual) have some changes I want to make and goals I’d like to meet. Is the difference here just a question of semantics? Maybe. Does it matter? Not really. I alluded to some of the things I’d like to be doing differently in a couple posts last week, and I’ve been thinking about those things since writing about them. But it wasn’t until I read Flying Yogini‘s post about her approach to the new year that I realized that maybe the foundation for getting things done this year should be trying to look at things from the perspective of a beginner. All too often, I get caught up thinking about where I should be with my achievements, and in the process I miss being part of where I am. In adopting the mentality of a beginner, I’m hoping to discard the expectations, the comparisons, and all the annoying little thoughts that prevent me from being fully present in what it is I’m actually doing. I’m hoping, essentially, to avoid falling into the same traps that tend to trip me up–taking on too much, trying to move too fast, and burning out before I really manage to get anywhere. As a beginner, I will give myself permission to take things slowly, make adjustments when I need to, and have a deep appreciation for what I accomplish.

A part of this process will entail switching things around a little bit when it comes to blogging. In the past, I’ve done a run-down of the week’s workouts on Sundays; moving forward I am going to follow Jill‘s model of doing a review/preview, which will involve setting mini-goals for the week ahead. Since I didn’t do all that much running last week, I’ll just do a preview this time around!

I did manage to get in about 12 miles last week, so this week I am going to set my goal at 15. Here is how I envision things:

Monday: rest

Tuesday: 3 miles

Wednesday: 4 miles

Thursday: rest/yoga

Friday: 3 miles

Saturday: 5 miles

Sunday: bootcamp/yoga

Writing out a schedule like this is weird. I’ve run marathons, half-marathons, and weeks with much higher mileage, but that’s not where things are for me right now. Instead of focusing on the past or the future, I need to focus on the present, and this is the sort of training I need right now. I need to work from where I am, and not where I wish I were. This is how I’ll be able to build up to something more.

As for my 30-day challenge for January (which I might elaborate on in a separate post), my goal is just to follow through with the goals I’ll be setting for myself in these Monday posts. I’m excited to be starting the new year with this fresh perspective, and I’m hoping 2012 will be a good time!

Enhanced by Zemanta
5 comments

  1. Sometimes I think we do live rather parallel lives. I’ve noticed the anti resolution theme, and not sure if it’s heightenend, or I’m just more aware. I like to set goals or themes for my year. I’m continuing my December theme, and extending it into 2012. My goal is practice ahimsa, or non-violence, on myself. Showing myself the peace and kindness I try and express in the world. So letting go of where I think I should be on my training plan, and instead being at peace with where I am. Happy new year!

  2. I totally understand that whole idea of “where should I be” as opposed to “where am I actually” when making plans. I get frustrated sometimes when I look at what I’m doing and compare it to the midst of marathon training… but that’s just not where I am right now. I can’t let that rip me up inside… but I do sometimes.

  3. Happy New Year Emilie! Taking things just like a begginer is a good way to monitor your progress and stay tuned to your current self and fitness. It’s exactly what I did when I returned to running after Alban’s birth, and I had a great year. Best wishes for 2012! (P.S. Je me suis inscrite à la loterie pour le marathon de NY. Si je suis pigée, je pourrai enfin te rendre visite!)

Leave a Reply

