For the Next 30 Days: December

This morning, I rather serendipitously came across a Facebook post from Thais about a 25-day “yogathon” she’s doing. In spite of its name, it’s not all about yoga. The main goal is to cleanse the mind, body, and soul. That was part of my focus with the 30-day project I had in mind for November, which was basically to do as much Bikram yoga as possible. Well, that fell through (you may have noticed. And by the way, thanks to Bikram Yoga Grand Central, for having non-existent customer service). So I thought this month might be a good time to try again (or at least try a variation).

A yoga class.

Image via Wikipedia

Everyone has their own concept when it comes to cleansing the mind, body, and soul, and I’ve spent a fair amount of time today thinking about what this sort of challenge would consist of. As I thought about it, I began to realize how much my anxiety has flared up over the past few weeks. The holidays are a stressful time, and rather than find effective ways to deal with difficult situations, I’ve been trying to ignore them. Guess what? It’s not a very good coping strategy! In fact, it just makes you more anxious. Deep down, I know that the best way to deal with anxiety is to face up to it, and have a toolbox of coping strategies that you can turn to in order to keep it from getting really bad. So my December yogathon is going to be working to put some things in that toolbox, and hopefully managing my anxiety a bit more effectively as a result.

The tools:

  • Yoga, obvs. Along with running, it’s one of the best defenses I have against everyday anxiety
  • Meditation. A new thing for me, but something that other people have used (for hundreds of years!) with great success. Why not give it a try?
  • Journaling. Also a new thing, but an effective way to deal with difficult situations. I find that when I am able to articulate what it is I’m anxious about, it really helps defuse everything that’s building up. Not only that, but often when I actually express it, it becomes a lot less scary than it was.

What I’m aiming to do is use one of these tools every day, and get into the practice of doing something about the things that are getting to me instead of just letting them sit there and build up until they become too big for me to keep ignoring. Nothing good ever comes from that. 

What would you do to cleanse your mind, body, and soul?

Enhanced by Zemanta
5 comments

  1. So glad to have you on board love!! and I am glad you were able to come up with something that you are excited to work on. Take it from an avid journaler, there is nothing better sometimes then sitting down and just letting it all out. If you want some tips or advice regarding medication don’t hesitate to ask! I’ve been working on it for quite some time now and i have a few tools of my own =) xx

  2. I love this! Was thinking of needing to do something focused for the month, and I think this is it! Need to come up with a plan, but I’m totally on board. Seems like just what I need and a great way to enter 2012. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Sometimes I think you must be living next door as you often blog about things I am thinking about too!

    I am on day 3 of meditating, I am loving the app “insight timer” as it chimes for the end of my 10 minutes (gotta start somewhere!) I am also focusing on heart openers right now. I hope it will help me be more generous and thoughtful with the people in my life.

    good luck and let us know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

