Sunday Run-down: Three Rs

A week ago I ran the Philadelphia half-marathon, and followed it up on Thursday with a 10k Turkey Chase. This means, for one thing, that I’ll be writing two race reports in the very near future. It also means that it’s time to move on from half-marathon training and find a new focus for my running.

Lorenzi Poggi R

Image via Wikipedia

I made a point of taking this week off for the most part: I’ve been battling a cold (yes, again), and I also wanted to give myself some time to recover, refresh, and regroup (sometimes it feels like everything in life can be boiled down to three words beginning with the letter r, doesn’t it?). These are things I haven’t really done in the past, and it’s resulted either in burn-out, or a real lack of purpose (that then leads to burn-out). And since I really want to work on moving forward with my running, I think trying to do things right is probably in order. Taking time to recover, refresh, and regroup should help me transition smoothly from one phase of training to the next.

After training for and participating in a major event, both body and mind need some time off. Of course, it can be really hard to take that time, and as a result very few people do it. In the past, I’ve felt that by resting, I’m being a softie and not ‘getting back out there’; that resting is a sign of weakness; that I’ll lose fitness and end up starting from zero if I take too much time off. And then I inevitably hit a point where I just get exhausted, don’t run for weeks, and do more damage than I would have if I’d just taken a break when I actually needed one.

Now, though, I’ve had a week of very little running. My body is rested, my mind is refreshed, and I’ve had a chance to regroup and identify some new goals. It’s time to lace up my Mizunos again, and lucky for me I’ll be doing exactly that tomorrow morning on a run with Tracy. I’ve made a point not to put any major races on the horizon; instead of trying to train for another half or full marathon immediately, I want to work seriously on building my mileage base. I may decide to run a half after a month or two of solid running, but I am not planning to register for another marathon until the Fall of 2012 (and then, I’ll only register if I’ve established the mileage base that I need in order to train successfully). Other goals?

  • Start with a weekly mileage goal of 20, and work up by 10% per week from there. I know the necessity of the 10% rule has been debated, but because it’s wise to increase mileage incrementally, I don’t see any reason why it should be abandoned
  • Include a weekly long run of 8-10 miles
  • Aim to attend boot camp once a week
  • Include one yoga session (minimum 30 minutes) per week (I have the perfect class in mind, too!)
This will be a period of exploring a schedule that has a bit more freedom built into it, and incorporates some variety. Usually I dread the period that follows a major race because I end up feeling aimless and a little bit depressed. That doesn’t have to be the case, though, and this time around I know it won’t be. I’m ready to run to get stronger and to invest in my running future, but most of all to enjoy it.
Enhanced by Zemanta
One comment

  1. Hi there
    Running for me is a relief, a self- centering activity. I get a little down when I am done with race season but love that running turns into something that is for me not a schedule. Just like you cross training with yoga or another activity helps break the tedium. But I love to run for me.

Leave a Reply

