For the Next 30 Days: November

Logo for the program 30 Days Category:Televisi...

Image via Wikipedia

I am many things. Unfortunately, quick to post updates and create new pages for things when I say I’m going to is not always one of them. The worst part is that it’s not that I forget, it’s just that sometimes I don’t do what I say I’m going to do, in spite of my best intentions. A recent example of this: creating a page for my 30 Days project, and then updating it with information about my 30-day sleep hygiene experiment, and my most recent 30-day attempt at self-improvement, which I managed to avoid posting about for all of October.

So! It’s entirely possible you’re wondering what exactly I was doing for my October 30 days (or you may have thought I’d completely forgotten. Or, you may have completely forgotten)! I was trying to eat a total of five fruits and vegetables every day. I did a pretty good job. I started out thinking it would be easy, but as it turns out I was wrong. It can be much harder than you’d think to fit five fruits and vegetables into your day, especially at times when you’re traveling or you don’t have immediate access to a very wide food selection. In learning that it could be more difficult than I’d originally anticipated, I developed a greater appreciation for fruit- and vegetable-rich meal opportunities, and also started paying a lot more attention to the composition of my meals and snacks (generally something I try to avoid, given my history with food). Overall: a good challenge, and one I’d recommend. If you don’t feel like going all out and investing a full 30 days, at least try to think more about your fruit and vegetable intake for a week.

But now it’s time to put October (and those 30 days) aside and move on to November, the next phase. This month, I’ve got yoga on the brain. Specifically Bikram yoga. And in addition to having yoga on the brain, I’ve got a Groupon in my pocket, conveniently for a month of unlimited yoga at a Bikram yoga studio near my office. It’s set to expire on the 11th, which is part of the motivation for this month’s challenge: 30 days of yoga, 20 of which will be of the Bikram variety.

For those of you unfamiliar with Bikram, it’s a variety of yoga that consists of a set number of postures (the same set for every practice) that are done in a room heated to over 100 degrees. I’ve dabbled with it in the past, but I have never been the greatest fan; however, people who do like it really like it. Most Bikram practitioners say that the more you do it, the more you like it, and that it’s especially important to do it at least two days in a row when you first start. Why? I don’t know. Is it true? Again, I don’t know. But I intend to find out.

My non-Bikram days will be pretty loosely structured, and I’m setting a minimum of twenty minutes for those practices. It’s pretty likely that I’ll stick to practices from YogaVibes, and I’ll try to post reviews of them. To be honest, I’m kind of scared of this challenge. It’s a tall order, but I think it’s got potential to be a lot of fun. And sweaty.

Anyone with me? If not for 30 days, then maybe at least for a few?

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 comments

  1. I’ve not done Bikram before, mainly because of the reason E3 mentions… it’s expensive! But I’ve also heard the same thing, that people are convinced about doing it multiple days in a row and the more you do it the more benefit you get. (Of course, that’s true of any yoga… when I had my unlimited pass to a studio a while ago I did a lot more yoga than I do on my own and it was wonderful!) Good luck with this challenge, I can’t wait to hear a recap of it!

Leave a Reply

