Screen shot 2011-10-09 at 8.51.30 PM

Sunday Run-down: October 3-9

Oof, what an over-full weekend this has been!  I feel like I’ve accomplished quite a bit, but I also feel like I’ve been hit by a truck.  With luck, I’ll be able to get some good sleep tonight.

With the weekend being so busy, I’m glad I was able to fit in some running.  Sometimes it feels like making time to run can be one of the hardest parts of training for a race.  I’m just relieved that I won’t be doing the Marine Corps Marathon, and so no longer have to worry about losing three hours or more every weekend.  Of course, I guess this problem could probably be addressed if I were to wake up earlier and do my running in the morning…but let’s not talk about that.  Let’s talk about how the running went this week!

Monday: rest

Tuesday: 3 miles

Wednesday: sick.  I mean, you didn’t think I could go a full week without having really bad stomach upset, did you?

Thursday: 75 minutes of yoga.

Friday: 7.5 miles

Saturday: 7.5 miles

Sunday: 6.5 miles, hard effort

I’m not sure at what point it happened, but sometime this week, it became clear that my training plan was not going to be followed (I had planned on 5, 3, 6, 3, 11) and that I would have to just do what I could.  I feel pretty good about it, I guess.  I tried to make adjustments, upping the distance on my Friday and Saturday runs, and upping the effort in pace on today’s run since I wouldn’t be able to do my long run mileage.  Sometimes things don’t go according to plan, and I’m trying to teach myself that when that happens, there are alternatives to deciding I’ve been defeated and giving up on everything.

Phew, it makes me tired just to look at this post and think back on this week.  I owe you all many updates and many posts (I’m not all that happy with the way my blogging schedule has panned out lately–there’s something that needs some work!), but they will have to wait for another time.

Until that time comes, share your updates!  What did you accomplish this week?

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 comments

  1. “Sometimes things don’t go according to plan, and I’m trying to teach myself that when that happens, there are alternatives to deciding I’ve been defeated and giving up on everything.”

    Sing it sister. I’ve been working on this lately too – if I can’t run because of my knee, I need to buck up and find another way to workout. If I can’t get through my heavy lift, work cleanly through the weights I do lift and come back with a renewed “I can” attitude next time. Tough!

  2. I got some house painting done… so I can move into my new house this upcoming weekend. Because of that BIG thing happening, I’ve had to give myself a little leeway on my schedule this week… I know I’m not going to be as set on a running schedule this week.. and that’s okay. It’s for a good reason!

  3. Great job this week! What did I accomplish this week? I accomplished taking 2 rest days which I NEVER do. Resting for me is so tough-I’m still learning to listen to my body completely. I’d say I’m also happy that I went for a run without feeling pressure from a training schedule and made my CT scan appointment.

Leave a Reply

