Let’s Pretend it’s Sunday

A calendar showing the leap year day.

Image via Wikipedia

Lately I’ve been feeling like time has been flying by, leaving me with little idea of where it went, and whether I was even involved in its passing. The weekend before last, I spent both Saturday and Sunday in a coaching certification run by the Road Runners Club of America, and this past weekend I was in a CPR/first aid training session for most of Saturday.  Things can get difficult when you don’t have much of a weekend twice in a row, let me tell you!  All this activity has been combined with a healthy dose of riding the old emotional roller coaster as I’ve been trying to determine whether or not I should still run the Marine Corps Marathon this year.  The week before last I had no idea; last week I had abandoned the idea entirely; and this week I’m feeling like it might be possible for me to just run it, and not race it.  It would be nice to have the experience, but it would also be pretty rough on my body.  My recent change of heart comes from the fact that I’ve been focusing on applying what I learned in the RRCA coaching class to my own running, the result of which has been one of the best weeks of running I’ve had in a while.

Shall we run it down?

Monday: rest

Tuesday: rest

Wednesday: 3 miles on my way to LUNA Chix bag watch

Thursday: 60 minutes yoga, 4 miles

Friday: rest

Saturday: 6 miles

Sunday: 16 miles

I don’t think anyone could be more surprised about that long run number than I am, especially since I’d basically given up on myself.  But those 16 miles yesterday felt really good.  I was running strong the entire time, today my body doesn’t feel nearly as beat up as it has after other long runs I’ve done, and I’m pretty sure I had a few more miles in me.  Maybe being my own little human guinea pig with my coaching is working.

How was your week in workouts?  Any major accomplishments? frustrations?  You know what to do.

Enhanced by Zemanta
8 comments

  1. I can only imagine how busy it must be to fit in running on top of everything else!! I had to forgo running a long time ago to keep up with my own life – sometimes i miss it. You’ve inspired me .. i think its time i brought out my running shoes again =)

Leave a Reply

