Sunday Run-Down: August 8-14

Wow, it is wet, wet, wet here in New York.  It started raining this morning, and as far as I know it hasn’t stopped all day.  There have been moments where it has let up slightly, but that’s about it.  Great day for a long run, huh?

If you’d told me on Wednesday that I would manage to get the mileage on my training schedule done for this week, I don’t think I would have believed you.  At that point, I hadn’t run a single mile and, feeling sick to my stomach, I’d gotten home from work and basically crawled into bed.  My previous week of training had been a wash, and I was starting to think maybe a marathon was just not in the cards for me after all.  But somehow I managed to pull things together.

Monday: Rest

Tuesday: 20 minutes of yoga

Wednesday: Rest (and a valiant effort not to throw up all over the place)

Thursday: 60 minutes of yoga

Friday: 7.5 miles (let the running begin!)

Saturday: 7.5 miles

Sunday: 14 miles

As you can see, it certainly wasn’t the most balanced week, but it all worked out.  My legs felt a bit tired on yesterday’s run, but I felt really good today.  So good, in fact, that I think I could have gone on to do more than 14 miles if I’d really wanted to.  I didn’t, though, figuring there really wouldn’t be any point in pushing it when I was doing what my training plan called for.  Even though I was soaked the entire time I was running, today’s long run was far and away the best one I’ve had in a while.  It was also a great confidence boost, since I’ve been feeling pretty anxious about how ready I’m going to be for the Marine Corps in October.

I’m definitely going to make sure that my mileage is spaced out a bit more evenly next week.  I mean, it worked out this time around to cram 29 miles into 3 consecutive days, but I’m not thrilled by the thought of doing that every week.  I’m also planning to do another two yoga sessions, as I’ve been seriously lacking in that department in spite of how good it feels to do it.

What are your plans for the coming week?  And what did you accomplish this week?

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 comments

Leave a Reply

