Addicted to Movement

I’ve spent the past two days in bed, thoroughly knocked out by the cold I felt coming on Friday.  In a way I’m glad it hit when it did because I was able to do my long run on Sunday, but obviously I wish more than anything that it hadn’t hit at all.  I’m feeling a lot better today than I did yesterday, and I expect that tomorrow I’ll be able to return to life among the living.  But I feel so thrown off my schedule since I’ve been in a brain fog since waking up yesterday.

 

Getting sick sucks!  There’s nothing like spending a couple days immobile to make you appreciate how good it feels to get up and move around to your heart’s content.  Even though it’s only been two days, I miss my healthy body.  I considered running today but ultimately decided it was probably better not to push my luck.  As a result, I’m restless and extremely antsy.  I’m considering doing some yoga in a little bit just so that I can work out the creaks in my joints and shake off some of the cobwebs that have built up.

It’s amazing to me how quickly a drop in activity can affect one’s mood.  Careful monitoring and observation (actually more like casual empirical evidence) has helped me figure out that I’m fine taking one day off of activity at a time.  Anything beyond that starts to get a bit dicey–by the time two days have elapsed I’m starting to feel a bit down.  If I happen to go a week without exercise, chances are pretty good that I am definitely in a funk.  It’s tricky, too, because as my mood plummets, I feel less inclined to get moving; as I move less, my mood continues to plummet.

In my opinion, the best way to avoid that vicious cycle is to avoid getting caught up in it in the first place.  And since I’ve already surpassed my limit when it comes to a tolerable amount of time off, I’m really looking forward to getting out for a run tomorrow.

Are you also addicted to movement?  What’s your limit when it comes to number of days off at a time?

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 comments

  1. Funny that you mention this; I was just thinking about asking the very same question on my blog. I think 3 days is my max. I’m on day 3 right now and I’m wishing I hadn’t taken today “off”. Days one and two were planned as rest days after my very first duathlon. I wanted to give myself 2 days to recover instead of one rest day, and rightly so, since I was still sore yesterday. Today’s rest day was slightly forced as it’s one of those bad “that time of month” days.

    I’m curious as to how many women actually run through that kind of pain and how many succumb to the torture and just let themselves have the day off from activity.

    I’ve personally done both, tried to work through it, and taken days off. Though I’m sure I’ve made the decision through varying levels of discomfort.

    (btw, found your blog via your #fitblog tag on twitter – @runaroundsara)

    1. Congrats on the duathlon! I totally know what you mean about wishing you hadn’t taken the day off–I’ve had so many days off I ended up regretting, even though sometimes I probably really needed them.

      I also know what you mean about running during the worst of “that time”. I’ve heard that exercise is supposed to be good for cramps, but sometimes I can’t imagine moving, let alone running, with them! I’m definitely in the camp of those who give themselves the day off on days like that 🙂

  2. I’m with you on the one day, but I’ll do two, especially before a big race or something, or on a vacation. I know when I did the “taper” for my half, it felt like a vacation to have 3 days off from working out (okay so I did yoga on one of the days). I probably do need to take more days off though, at least just one day at a time breaks. Maybe we get addicted to exercise and the good mood and it’s like our brain doesn’t know what to do without it… I truly believe that can happen.

    Hope you feel better soon! Those stuffed microbes are so cute but don’t make the fact that you’re sick any cuter. Take off as much time as you need to though, your body probably just needs a break and maybe the sickness is its way of telling you that?

  3. feel better! being sick is no fun. usually i can’t stand to miss running, but lately i haven’t really minded all that much… guess i needed a break? couse it hurts for me to move (my skin) so it’s not that hard to convince myself to not-workout.

    anyway.

    rest up! better to miss 2-3-5-7 days now than to miss a month later or something.

  4. Hope you are feeling better! I really can’t do more than 2 in a row or I am cranky/depressed/irritable, etc. I just NEED to move!

Leave a Reply

