Sunday Run-down: July 18-24

If it meant anything to insult a day (see, even that phrase doesn’t make very much sense) I would call this day a butthead.  Why?  Because it’s been a butthead, obviously.  Typical Sunday, or at least typical of at least one day out of a weekend–I had plans, and for reasons that are unclear to me, ended up in a funk, spending most of the day in bed.  I spent some time working on this (my first sweater, by the way.  Also, not my picture):

Newport Beach Pullover via KnitPicks

But I did very little else.  I even meant to go running and then ditched it.  I don’t know why, since I ran well yesterday and had been looking forward to making up some mileage today.  For whatever reason, the thought of going out again today and coming back drenched in sweat just wasn’t appealing.  And it’s not even as hot outside as it had been.  Oh well.  Here’s a peek at the week:

Monday: rest

Tuesday: 3 miles

Wednesday: 5 miles

Thursday: 60-minutes of yoga

Friday: too intensely hot to do anything

Saturday: 11 miles

Sunday: see above

It’s funny how yesterday I felt good about this week and today I don’t anymore.  I guess it’s just a result of being in an icky mood–obviously that’s going to change my perspective about things.

So, goals for this upcoming week?  I’d like to get my running back on track since this is the second week in a row that I’ve missed a few of my training plan runs.  I know that’s not a big deal when you’re starting your 5th week of an 18-week training plan, but I don’t want to get in the habit of doing it.

Another goal: some more yoga.  I’m feeling gross about my body lately, and generally the more active I stay, the better I feel mentally (obviously, since my body doesn’t change considerably as a result of a little bit more movement over the course of a week).  Also: try to stay positive.  I’m getting a little tired of feeling so bummed.

How was your week?  Share your accomplishments and goals for the upcoming week below!

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 comments

  1. Good job on the 11 miler- that’s incredible :). Plus it’s good that you got your yoga in. I sometimes think training plans don’t emphasize things like that enough, it’s like they assume all you do is run.

    I did CrossFit for the first time today and worked out with our company’s Couch to 5Kers yesterday (I also ran 4 miles after working out with them, as working out with them wasn’t really “my” workout).

    Good luck this week!

  2. Watch for overtraining! To do an ll-miler and then run again the next day is a bit intense. Maybe consider a rest day after a long run, or a shorter run before a long run. That was a pretty impressive week, so don’t be down on yourself!

    1. Thanks for the tip, Joy! I generally don’t have trouble following a long run with another run the following day, and usually do a short run the day before if it doesn’t end up being a rest day. It’s never been a big problem for me when training for marathons in the past, but you’re right that it’s important to pay attention to the signs of overtraining!

Leave a Reply

