Branching Out

Let me just say this first: I had no idea that ditching the underwear was the way to go when it came to shorts with a liner!  Honestly, I was blown away by how many of you go commando when you’re running.  Clearly I need to rethink my tactics.

With that out of the way, we can now move on to tonight’s topic, which is branching out and trying new things.  Why did I choose this topic?  Because today I bought this:

Image via GrouponIt needed to be done considering how many times recently I’ve said I need to start strength training and followed up on that statement by doing absolutely nothing.  I also managed to wrench my back this morning on the subway, which only served to remind me how very, very weak my core muscles are, and how desperately they need to be strengthened.  Obviously this was another reason to buy this Groupon.

The trick will be actually using the Groupon, since I currently have two or three for yoga that are just sitting and gathering virtual dust.  I enlisted a friend to do this with me, though, so my hopes are high.  Combine that with the fact that it will be something novel (it’s important to introduce new and interesting things into your workout routine!), and we’ve got ingredients for success.  Honestly, I can’t wait to get started.  And I won’t lie, I would love to have arms like the woman in that picture.  I think 10 boot camp sessions will get me there, right?!

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 comments

  1. It’s not really commando… after all, the undies are built in :).

    I would totally buy and use that groupon, but we don’t really have fitness classes here unless you join a gym so yea. Just remember that they do expire, and if you don’t use them you haven’t saved any money but spent money that you could’ve spent on something you would’ve used.

  2. Oh, that looks fun! I love groupons to try stuff like that out. Can’t wait to hear how it goes!

    Also, i’m a commando runner all the way. heh.

  3. A change of routine is vital to me staying interested in working out. The boot camp seems like a great idea to shake things up! Plus, having a friend on board will really help out!

Leave a Reply

