Embrace: Emilie

Well, I can really only speak for myself but boy has it ever felt like a blue Monday around here!  The heat wave we’re experiencing has got me feeling like a wilted flower, and I’ve been dealing with a bit of nausea on and off.  I devoted quite a bit of time today to thinking about what I would post about tonight, and was considering writing about the relationship between personal style and self-esteem…but I’m going to hold on to that topic for later this week, and tonight I’m going to do a little bit of an Embrace:Me redux by once again embracing myself.  So, what changed my mind?

For one thing, it’s important to be consistent in the energy you put into feeling good about yourself.  Just as I train daily so that I can run a marathon, I try to put a little bit of effort into being good to myself on a regular basis.  That being said, I felt somewhat due for a reaffirmation of how I feel about me.  For another thing, I got an email this evening that, frankly, made me kind of feel like crap.  After reading it, my first instinct was to think about all the reasons why I’d been rejected in the way that I had through this email.  Naturally, it wasn’t hard to come up with a fairly long list of things: I’m not funny enough, pretty enough, fit enough, interesting enough, original enough; my blog isn’t popular enough, interesting enough, funny enough, enjoyable enough, etc.  I mean, the list could go on and on.  But as I ran through the ways in which I felt I must be inadequate, I realized this was no way for me to treat myself.  Rejection sucks, and the only way to make it worse is to beat yourself up over it.  So to combat that rejection, I thought maybe the best thing to do would be to create a little acceptance for myself.  And so even though I’m feeling a bit wounded, this post can serve as a reminder:

A gift from Nat, from Balancing Act Clothing

My worth as a person exists independent of approval or rejection by any outside entities.  I’m proud of the work I do on my blog, and I’m proud of the person I am today.  I am strong, passionate, genuine, and a pleasant person to be around.  My blog is informative, substantial, and has a unique perspective.  I believe these things to be true, and whether or not someone else agrees with me about those things shouldn’t change the way I feel.

I’m not perfect, and I never will be.  Nothing I create will ever be perfect, either.  But that doesn’t mean that who I am now and the things I create today are not enough.  As lost as I sometimes feel, I am everything I want to be, and no amount of rejection will change that.  The only approval I need in order to feel good about myself is my own.

3 comments

  1. I love this: “For one thing, it’s important to be consistent in the energy you put into feeling good about yourself. Just as I train daily so that I can run a marathon, I try to put a little bit of effort into being good to myself on a regular basis. ” So, so true, but so easy to forget or blow off. I need to get so much better at this!

    This post is awesome, and so are you! I’m glad you realize that and don’t like one person get you down 🙂

  2. Even though you don’t need it, I approve of you!!!

    Also, well done Nat – I heart my Balancing Act t-shirt so much, I will definitely have to get it a friend…

    Beautifully written as always, Emilie 🙂

Leave a Reply

