Sunday run-down: July 11-17

Thanks for all the blood blister-related advice.  Nat insists that the blister looks smaller, but I don’t think it has really changed since it appeared lo these couple weeks ago.  Based on your comments, it seems to be pretty common to drain blood blisters, and I’m beginning to think that I should probably go that route.  It can’t be good for that blood to just be sitting there between layers of skin…can it?

Anyway, on to less disgusting matters, like this week’s mileage!  Overall, this was a much better week than the last one (thank goodness).  Here’s how it went down:

Monday: rest

Tuesday: 5+ miles with the Dashing Whippets.

Wednesday: 3.4 miles with the LUNA ladies.

Thursday: rest

Friday: 3+ miles–one of those days when I sat around for a few minutes seriously debating whether I wanted to run or not, and ended up very happy that I decided to go.

Saturday: 5 miles

Sunday: 9.4 miles, a long run victory!  This was a difficult one, let there be no doubt about that.  I ran with the Dashing Whippets again, but ended up entirely on my own after a few miles.  Ultimately, that was fine, since the rest of the group was holding a pace that I didn’t really want to run.  My priority was to get my mileage in, even if I had to run as slow as possible in order to do it.  I wore my Garmin but didn’t have it display pace, and I’m really happy to have done this run.  Unfortunately, I’m still feeling nervous about future long runs.  I guess I’ll try not to worry too much about them, though.  Worrying isn’t going to do me any good.

Sunday was the only time I wore my Garmin.  Every other day this week, I ran without it.  I think deciding to take a break from it has been really good for me to far.  I’ve had more runs where I felt immersed in the run itself and able to let go of worrying about my pace; overall, I’ve been able to relax a lot more and enjoy the act of running while paying attention to how my body is feeling.

One thing I’ve started really thinking about this week is cross-training, especially when it comes to strengthening exercises.  In previous years of training I’ve really neglected cross-training, and since I’m still in the early weeks of training for the marathon, I think I probably still have time to incorporate some moves that could help me to strengthen my body and help me to run better.  I know my core and legs could definitely benefit, and some upper body work couldn’t hurt.  My goal this week is to try using the ten-minute mentality to get some  strength work in.  Hopefully that will start me down the right path!

How was your week in workouts?  What are your goals for this week?  Share your thoughts in the comments!

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 comments

  1. Nice job!! I’ve found that cross training and strength are really beneficial during marathon training. Kind of a pain to fit in though! I’m looking forward to a little cutback week, which is good timing since it’ll be 3597328967 degrees in NYC this week!

  2. Great job last week! You sound so much more relaxed about running when you’re logging the miles but not keeping track of the pace! Sometimes that’s especially hard when running with a group so kudos to you!

    I had a terrible running week last week. I’m 3 weeks out from my half-marathon and I’m just DONE. I’m training for this one right on the heels of training and running one in May so I’ve been in this mode since January! I’ve had enough! Luckily after this race, only 5Ks planned for the fall and cross country starts on August 2nd so coaching that without worrying about my own running will be a nice change of pace.

  3. You had a great running week and i hope you are feeling better over all. Do you still have that gym membership? Re: strength stuff i guess it might help?

Leave a Reply

