Choosing Your Battles

This evening, I planned to write a post about the uncomfortable phenomenon of having your thighs rub together while you run.  My recommendation was going to be that if this happens to you, you do the following:

  1. Refuse to refer to this process as “chub rub”, because honestly that’s just one more part of the crappy vernacular of fat shaming (in addition to the roughly 1,000 other things that are wrong with it);
  2. Buy yourself a stick of Body Glide, and don’t be embarrassed about the fact that you did.  Thighs rub together.  It’s just what they do.  It doesn’t mean that your thighs are disgusting and out of control and freakish.  Body Glide will make your life easier and much more comfortable by preventing the very unpleasant chafing that can occur as a result of all that friction;
  3. Consider trying out different styles of running shorts.  Maybe long compression shorts, maybe just a style with a different cut.
And then, when I added this image to my post:

Image via Body Glide

WordPress decided it would arbitrarily shrink the text in the post.  Ultimately, I had to delete it because there was nothing else I could really do to save it and I didn’t feel like trying to restore it from an earlier draft (if there even was one, I’ve those just mysteriously disappear before).  I’m tired, I’ve had a long day, and sometimes you just have to accept that the best way to deal with something that’s frustrating and annoying is to walk away from it and move on.

Also, I was not asked to mention Body Glide, nor was I offered any compensation to do so.  I just like their product, and the opinions expressed in this post are entirely my own.

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 comments

  1. I’ve never used Body Glide before. But I do usually wear longer compression short or capris. It works for me really well (plus, honestly, the Body Glide would be one more thing for me to forget 😉 ).

    Hope you are having a GREAT week!! 😀

  2. I’m sooooo with you on the negative vernacular that is so commonplace in our society. So many negative statements for things that are truly a natural part of the human form.

    Smart move to walk on and not dwell on it too long!

  3. I forgot to put on bodyglide and had the WORST case of inner thigh chafing on my 9 mile run–it actually turned into scabs it was so disgusting. AND, I literally took a picture of it and texted it to my mom (because who else would you send that picture to?) and titled it “chub rub,” mostly to make her chuckle. I know I shouldn’t use that word, but, I’ll admit it, I did. I LOOOVVVEE bodyglide and remembered to use it on my 10 miler this past weekend and had no chafing whatsoever!

    As a 7th and 8th grade teacher, I’m always mindful of body image issues. One day I saw two girls comparing their thighs and one girl was saying she had “thunder thighs.” I told her that she should be proud of having muscular thighs (she’s a softball player) and that I’m proud of mine and how much I can do with them. I try to keep that in mind when I experience the dreaded inner-thigh chafing!

Leave a Reply

