Screen shot 2011-07-03 at 8.09.59 PM

Sunday Run-down: June 27-July 3

Even though it’s been July for a couple days now, I just can’t get used to the idea that July 4th is tomorrow.  It’s weird!  June went by so quickly!  But July 4th=holiday, so I’ll take it.

Today marks the end of my first week of MCM 2011 training.  I went by Hal Higdon’s Intermediate 1 schedule, and I felt good.  I was considering either that training plan or the Novice 2 plan, and even though I’m hoping to stick with Intermediate 1, I figure that if I really need to, I can fall back to Novice 2.  I think having a contingency like this will work well for me–hopefully it will help me to avoid the sort of stress and anxiety that could result from missing a few days of training.

Overall, this week went really well.  My training plan calls for 5 runs a week, and even though that can sometimes seem like a lot, I feel like I’m at my best when I spread my mileage out over several days like this.  Four days of running per week is usually the minimum amount that I like–anything less than that and my mood starts to dip.  During those weeks when I’m able to fit in five runs, I feel really good.  And I think it’s worth mentioning that this week, I didn’t fall victim to my usual weekend depression.  So maybe five really is some kind of magic number.

So how did the week look?

Monday: Rest

Tuesday: 3 miles

Wednesday: 3.4 miles (I had been planning on doing 5 but pulled a last minute switcheroo for LUNAChix-related reasons)

Thursday: Rest

Friday: 5.2 miles

Saturday: 8 miles

Sunday: 4.5 miles

Total: 24.1 (unless my math is way off, which is entirely possible)

I’m hoping that next week will be just as good as this one.  I don’t feel overtired, I don’t feel like it was difficult to get my miles in, and even though I wish the week had been slightly more balanced  (doing 3, 5, 3, 5, and then 8), I’m really pleased overall.  For next week, I’m hoping to get a yoga session in and get in another 5 runs.  Next week the long run increases to 9 miles, which is the longest I will have run since the Brooklyn Half, if I’m remembering correctly.  Wish me luck!

How did your week go?  How is the upcoming week looking?

2 comments

  1. Just looking at your mileage makes me a little jealous! Plus the thought that maybe if I could only run 5 days a week, then my weekend saddies would be eliminated! 🙂

    But I’m so glad to hear that it seems like this week’s running helped you feel pretty good. I hope that continues and I’ll be cheering you on throughout this training cycle!

Leave a Reply

