Body of Knowledge

This week has been strange in that it has gone by very slowly (I thought the weekend would never come!) and very quickly (it seems like just yesterday I was writing the last Body of Knowledge post) at the same time.  Maybe it’s because I am well and truly exhausted, or maybe it’s because the week has been so busy.  Regardless of the reason, here we are approaching the tail end of another Saturday.  And just like the Saturdays that have come before, I’ve got some knowledge to pass on.

Image via lovely package, design by David Fung

  • Sociological Images is a pretty incredible blog, and in any given week they do like 1,000,000 posts that I could link to, but I found this one on a new book entitled What I Eat to be compelling.  If you’re not already familiar with the site, I recommend spending some time there.
  • Bad news for everyone except men and thin women!
  • Dating from April and falling in the ‘new to me’ category, I found this post on the practice of douching interesting, especially in light of things like Dove trying to make us feel bad about our armpits.
  • Personally I prefer soy milk to cow’s milk.  But if I did drink more cow’s milk, I would also prefer that it not be genetically modified to this degree.
  • One of my favorite bloggers, Virginia Sole-Smith, is reporting on the hunger crisis.  Please take the time to read her article, and share it with others to increase awareness of this problem.  You can also find out more about how to help through Virginia’s blog.

Share your knowledge in the comments!

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 comments

  1. I’m not a fan of GMO’s – but that cow milk/human milk thing is just plain freaky!

    And the douche article is really interesting… I like that you compared it to the Dove thing… when I wrote about that on my blog I was really in a thinking turmoil about all the ways marketers try to make us feel bad about ourselves. I have never understood the douche market and I agree that it is right there in that same arena.

Leave a Reply

