Workin’ for the Weekend

To quote a much-loved niece of mine, “I tigred.”  For those of you who aren’t hip to the lingo, that means I’m exhausted.  This has been a week of burning the candle at both ends, and at this point I am planning to just put my head down on soldier on through until the weekend.

I’ve got some exciting plans, too.  For one thing, there’s this…

…which, in addition to being a pink t-shirt, is also meant to signify the NYRR Women’s Mini 10k, in its 40th year!  This is the first time I’ve done this race, and I’m excited to be a part of such an important component of women’s history in running.

In addition to that, Saturday is Nat’s birthday so there will be some celebrating!  Nothing fancy, but since we haven’t had a chance to spend much time together this week, it will be nice to just hang out a little bit and relax.  Then on Sunday I’m hoping to join the New York Flyers for their prospective Flyers 4-mile run in the morning, attend the Fitness Festival mid-day, and then a talk with Marshall Ullrich in the evening.

So, the weekend may prove to be a continuation of this candle-at-both-ends trend, but at least there’s the possibility of time for napping!  Do you have any weekend plans you’re excited about?

3 comments

  1. Lucky! I’m jealous, I would love to do a 10km right now. Instead, this weekend will be spent apartment hunting in a city three hours away and making Big Life Decisions ™ concerning my work.

    Good luck and HAVE FUN!!! 🙂

    1. Oh, goodness–Big Life Decisions and apartment hunting are two of my least favorite things in the world. I’m sorry to hear that that’s your weekend 😦 If it’s any consolation, I’ve got some Big Life Decisions to make as well. I guess it’s that time of year.

      I hope it goes well this weekend. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

