Sunday run-down: May 30-June 5

Très riches heures du Duc de Berry: Juin (June...

A depiction of June from a medieval book of hours. I love medieval manuscripts. Image via Wikipedia

So it’s June.  The year seems to be going by really quickly, and I feel like I’ve let a lot of it pass me by so far.  I’m actually a little bit–I don’t know the best word, distressed, maybe?–that we’re almost halfway through the year and in some ways, I don’t think I’ve come all that far.  Like many Sundays, today has been a rather difficult one, and I’m feeling frustrated with my running and my recovery.  Lately I’ve been feeling like I should be pushing myself a little bit harder, accomplishing more, and taking better care of myself, and I don’t know why those things have been so difficult for me or why they are such a source of tension and aggravation.  I have to keep reminding myself that I won’t get anywhere by beating myself up or failing to acknowledge the things I have accomplished.

Running-wise, this was a somewhat mediocre week.  I planned on doing a long run today of 8-10 miles, but I just felt so run-down that instead I succumbed to laziness and spent the day inside doing mostly nothing.  I did just finish a yoga practice, though, so at least I have that to check off the list.  Pretty soon I’ll start training for the Marine Corps Marathon, which is 21 weeks away, and I would probably do well to take it a bit easy until I get into training mode.  Part of this means accepting that running three times a week is fine and not a sign of failure.  Easier said than done, though!

Here’s a look at the week that was:

Monday: rest

Tuesday: Yoga, which I thought was incredibly hard.

Wednesday (National Running Day): 6.24 miles

Thursday: 2.1 miles

Friday: Yoga

Saturday: 5.05 miles and a few walk/run intervals with Nat.

Sunday: Yoga, a repeat of the same practice I did Tuesday.  Instead of finding it incredibly hard, though, this time around I thought it was great.

I haven’t put much effort into weekly goals for the past couple months, so my intention with this post is to return to that habit.  To that end, here are the things I want to accomplish this week: start a detox/cleanse (but not in the way you think!  this will just be an effort to cleanse some negative habits from my routine); go for a morning run; cook one meal; go for one run with a running group; exceed this week’s mileage; and do at least two yoga practices.

How was your week?

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

