Open the vents

Blow Off Some Steam Already

Image by Jon Person via Flickr

You may find this hard to believe given how often I tend to vent here on the blog, but most of the time I feel pretty guilty about doing it.  However, I often encourage friends to vent because I think it’s a healthy way to blow off steam.  Oh the double standards to which we hold ourselves!  Today is the sort of day where some venting is needed, and since I’m capable of admitting that it’s healthy for others, I’m going to go ahead and do it in the interest of my own health.

It’s not that I’ve had a super bad day, it’s just that I’m still tired from the weekend, I haven’t slept well this past week, short weeks always feel long for some reason, it’s been hot, and did I mention I’m tired?  When you add all these things up, you just get to a point where you feel a little bit fed up with things.

What things, exactly?  Well, I’m glad you asked!

My Garmin telling me my pace is 12:34/mile when I’ve just finished running down hill, and generally failing to maintain any semblance of consistency when I run the route I did today.

The subway, always and forever.

The people who take up either the entire sidewalk, or the entire path on which you are running.  It’s worse when they see you and still don’t make any room for you.  It’s even worse when their dog moves to make room for you on the sidewalk, but they don’t.

Bug bites!

Annoying and/or condescending work emails.

Not having enough time in the day for a run and a yoga session.

When it seems like almost everything you eat upsets your stomach in one way or another.

Feeling like you may have hit the limit on how far you can advance in your job.

Hating most of your wardrobe.

Sweating.  Sweating profusely, especially once your run is over.  Sweating so much that you can’t get around the fact that you’ll have to take your second shower of the day when you get back from running even though it’s not nearly as hot as it was yesterday (and don’t get me started on how much I sweat yesterday.  I have managed to out-sweat wicking fabrics).

The people who throw a frisbee or a football on the path where you’re running so that you always have to worry if you might end up getting hit in the head.

Feeling exhausted and not being able to sleep!

Ahh, I feel better.  How about you, what do you need to vent about?  Let it all out in the comments.

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 comments

  1. Oh the heat is ridiculous! I have to pace back and forth for awhile after I run outside this time of year or I feel like I will melt or pass out. Both sometimes! Blah! It’s sad that most pets have better manners than their owners. Grrrr…

  2. i often wish i could just go buy a whole new wardrobe.

    i could probably find a lot of crap to whine about but i’m actually being too lazy to even do that right now 🙂

  3. So so so so many of those things are on my list. And I always feel guilty for venting, either on my blog or on twitter or to friends or to my hubby. I feel guilt for lots of things that I shouldn’t feel guilty about. I’m trying to follow my mom’s guidance, “Don’t feel guilty unless you did something illegal.” It’s kind of a nice reminder at times! 🙂

Leave a Reply

