YogaVibes How-Tos

Yoga postures Ado-muka-shvanasana

Image via Wikipedia

So I have had a marathon day, but not in the 26.2 mile sense.  I had an early morning appointment, a full day of work, a LUNAChix run, and then a LUNAChix meeting to top it all off.  I am exhausted!  The only thing this day is missing is some yoga, but since I plan on going to bed about thirty seconds after I finish this post, I don’t think that there are any asanas in my immediate future.  Oh well, some days are like that, and since part of yoga is knowing how to reach your edge without pushing past it, you have to be careful not to push too hard to try and fit a practice in when there’s just too much other stuff going on.

Here’s something that’s pretty cool, though: YogaVibes has found a way to make it possible for you to invest a little bit of time in improving your poses, even on days like today when you feel like there’s just no time to roll out your mat.  They offer a variety of free streaming videos with comprehensive explanations of different yoga styles and poses, along with explanations and demonstrations of ways to prepare for some of the more challenging poses (like standing split or crow).

I love these videos because for one thing, they allow you to get information on the poses that you might not get from a standard yoga class.  Additionally, I’ve had a hard time finding a resource for preparatory poses–in a lot of cases classes just don’t even get to the more challenging poses, or you have the option of doing the pose or not doing it without doing something that might help you work toward getting there.  They are a great resource and can also be a huge help if you’re new to yoga or want a refresher course before starting your own at-home practice.

You can access the classes through the ‘Free Videos‘ tab on YogaVibes.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 comments

  1. Thanks for sharing the link! I feel the same way as you about learning how to get into the more challenging poses– unless I do it on my own it’s not going to happen in class where there’s not enough time to do the challenging stuff or people to help you do it.

    1. You’re welcome! I was so thrilled when I found those videos because I really had been looking for something like them for a while. I hope you’ll find them useful!

Leave a Reply

