Sunday run-down: May 16-22

Photo via bretphoto.blogspot.com, (c) Bret Littlehales

Lately it feels like I’ve spent at least one of two weekend days feeling depressed.  I’m not really sure what triggers it, I have a terrible time trying to get through it, and I’m not really sure how to avoid having it happen.  You may have already guessed that today is one of those depression days.  Yesterday I felt fine–my half-marathon felt like it had more or less been a success, I was in a good mood, and I had plans for things to get done today; today, I have felt like a slug, everything I have eaten has left me feeling too full and grossed out by myself, and in spite of everything I planned to do yesterday, I haven’t actually done anything.  On top of those things, I no longer feel all that great about how my half-marathon went.  How’s that for a 180?  Depression sucks.  Also I’m probably one of the few people on the planet who looks forward to Mondays.

But we’re not here to listen to me carry on about depression, we’re here for the run-down.  And far be it from me to deny you what you want.

Monday: Rest

Tuesday: 5.2 miles

Wednesday: Yoga

Thursday: 7.4 miles

Friday: Rest

Saturday: 13.1 miles

Sunday: Rest

It was obviously a pretty low-key week as I wanted to be sure to feel rested for my race on Saturday.  I didn’t do nearly as much yoga as I would have liked, though, and maybe it’s just because I’m feeling crummy today, but I wish I had run a little bit more.  I’d also like to improve my diet and get some variety into my weekly routine; however, since I’m feeling bad about pretty much everything right now, I want to hold off on making any goals for this week.  Doing so seems like it would just be a recipe for disaster, and I’d probably just set myself up to fail.  So I’ll hold off on those until later.

How did your week turn out?  Share your accomplishments or goals for next week in the comments!

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 comments

  1. I haven’t been feeling that great either and I’m definitely moody and depressed these days. You think I’d be on a high from yesterday still but no, I’m not. I’ve also felt like a slug and all uncomfortable like that. Eating stinks, bleh.

    Hey, at least you did yoga once, and you did tons of running considering you ran a half marathon- definitely not an easy task. I want to say “Don’t be too hard on yourself”, but I know I’m the same way, so I’m really not one to talk. Hopefully next week is better, though…

  2. My accomplishment this week was that I ran 7 miles on Tues., my furthest distance ever.
    My goal for next week is to eat less sugar. I’ve been feeling tired and run down and have been eating sugar as an energy boost, but the rebound effect is worse than the original tired!
    I’d also like to work in my garden.

Leave a Reply

