Race Face: NYRR Brooklyn Half-Marathon

Brooklyn Bridge - detail

Image via Wikipedia

Tonight’s post is going to be short and sweet because it’s late and I’m tired.  On Saturday, the past twelve weeks of training will come together on a 13.1 mile run through one of New York City’s 5 boroughs…if the world doesn’t end first, that is.  On certain days, I am really excited about this run.  On others, I am really nervous about it.  Well, ’twas ever thus, as they say.

I mentioned earlier that I thought I would go into this run with an A,B, and C goal.  I think this will make things a bit more balanced than things were for the Colon Cancer 15k.  Things have been pretty up and down recently, so I’m not entirely sure what to expect.  As a result, I’ve chosen goals that I think represent what I can realistically achieve.

My A goal: to finish under 2 hours.  This would mean an average pace of about 9:09 per mile.  My half-marathon PR is a 1:58:28, and I’m not looking to beat that this weekend, but I would be thrilled to come close.

My B goal: 2:05, which would mean an average pace of about 9:30 per mile.

My C goal: 2:10, which means an average pace of about 9:55 per mile.

My slowest time for a half-marathon is a 2:11, and I’m pretty sure I’m in better shape now than I was at the time I ran that race.  The biggest challenge this weekend is going to be how I fare mentally.  In spite of a few bad runs, I am physically ready to run this race, I just need to get my head in the game for it!

Enhanced by Zemanta
8 comments

  1. when you start to feel tired/slack/etc, come up with a mantra to push yourself. if you can focus on pushing through the pain/tiredness, you’ll likely forget about the mental weight trying to drag you down.

    good luck! run strong!

Leave a Reply

