Sunday run-down: March 28-April 3

KUNSAN AIR BASE, South Korea— Airmen from the ...

Image via Wikipedia

Ahoy hoy.  How is your Sunday going?  Mine’s fine.  The weather’s nice and I don’t have to go to work tomorrow because I worked yesterday, so that’s good.  I’m still pretty wiped out from traveling so I’ve been a bit of a brat today (sorry, Nat) and although I have lots to say in response to comments on yesterday’s post, I think I’m going to hold off on that until tomorrow when (hopefully) I’ll have a bit more energy.  For now I really am just feeling run down, so I guess the title of this post is appropriate.

Running-wise, it was a good week.  Let’s take a look.

Monday: rest

Tuesday: 5.45 miles of hills.  This week I get to switch things up and do mile repeats.  I love hills, but I’m happy for the change.

Wednesday: rest (running would have been really difficult because of traveling)

Thursday: 3 miles on the hotel treadmill

Friday: 4 miles on the hotel treadmill

Saturday: 2 miles on the hotel treadmill

Sunday: 7 miles back in New York–so nice to be running outside again!

Total: 21.45 miles.

My goal this week was to stick to my training plan and not do more mileage than I was being asked to do, and I did a good job of it!  I even cut back on Saturday and did fewer miles than I should have (training plan called for 3), recognizing that I was tired and that one more mile wouldn’t make a huge difference.  Taking a more relaxed approach to things was good for me, I think, and may be the reason why I managed to get 5 runs in during a busy week!  I’m hoping I can keep that pattern up.

I’m still a bit disappointed in how much I’ve been slacking in other departments, though: core work, yoga, and weight training.  So this week’s mini-goal will be to incorporate one day of each.  I know that won’t be setting any records or anything, but that’s not what I’m trying to do.  I just need to make room for those activities in my routine, and since I’m all about changing routines these days, I think this is a good way to start.  What are your goals for this week?

Embrace:Me 30-day challenge, day 29: Pinkberry!  I realized how much I wanted it while I was running, so when I got home I treated myself.  You shouldn’t always need a reason other than ‘I want this right now’ to get yourself a treat.

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 comments

  1. dude that’s great activity for being on the road! gotta love that hotel treadmill… 😉

    rest up. i think it’s crazy how worn out traveling/being away from home can make us.

    1. Thanks! I hope you’re able to snap out of your slump. I’ve definitely experienced my fair share of them and can empathize–they are no fun!

Leave a Reply

