Change your routine…

Map of USA with Midwest highlighted

Image via Wikipedia

Tomorrow afternoon I’ll be catching a plane from Minneapolis back to New York.  Although I’ll readily admit that I am not a huge fan of traveling, this trip has helped me to remember that it does have its advantages.  It’s often said, for instance, that travel broadens the mind.  I’ve certainly been privy to some mind-broadening while being here in the Midwest.

I haven’t slept all that well since getting here, but that hasn’t stopped me from getting up half an hour earlier than I do at home.  Over the past couple days, I’ve been able to let my NYC routine go, and try out something new.  This morning and yesterday morning as well, I had time to shower and then do some care-taking things that I normally don’t allow myself the time for, such as applying lotion to my body or having a glass or two of water.  In New York, I have a hard time waking up no matter what time it is, and it’s not unusual for me to hit the snooze button one too many times.  Often, I end up with about forty-five minutes to get up, get ready, and get out the door.  I’ve gotten to a point where I depend on Nat to make breakfast for me (which I bring with me to work) because I don’t have the time to do it.  Sometimes I can grab a few things to bring with me as snacks, sometimes I can’t.  I rarely have time to do more than get dressed, quickly do something with my hair, and gather up my stuff.  Needless to say it’s a harried and stressful process, but because it’s become routine, it’s hard to break out of it.  But the past two days have made it clear that I can’t keep it up–it’s not doing me any good, and is actually preventing me from treating myself well.

I’ve been thinking about ways to try and implement a new morning routine, one that more closely resembles what I’ve been doing here than what I do at home.  Coincidentally, this desire to change things up a bit falls at the same time as the beginning of a new month, so I thought maybe the best way to try and change my evil ways would be to make it a goal for April: wake up a bit earlier, resist the urge to hit the snooze button, take time in the morning to do a couple nice things for myself and start the day on a positive note rather than one of stress and anxiety.

Travel and the disruption of routine that accompanies it can certainly serve to put us in places of discomfort, and I think that’s one of the reasons I have such a difficult time doing it; however, this time around I’m going to try to embrace this discomfort and see it as an opportunity to grow and expand my mind, just like travel should.

Do you have any routines that you want to try shaking up in April?

Embrace:Me 30-day challenge, day 27: Today I did what might have been the hardest nice gesture so far–I took myself out to dinner.  I don’t like doing things by myself, I don’t like being places that are unfamiliar, and I definitely don’t like food all that much.  But this evening, I knew that I couldn’t choose to skip dinner, that a decision like that would be incredibly unkind to myself.  So I gathered my courage and headed down to the hotel restaurant, Kindle in tow.  The result?  It was a nice meal.  I got to read peacefully, enjoy my food, and leave when I wanted to.  And I felt like I was really treating myself, even though I just got spaghetti and a salad.  Something about taking myself out just made me feel good.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 comments

  1. i’ve been thinking lately that my morning routine needs a bit of a change as well. it’s so easy to give in and snooze too much, and i KNOW that it doesn’t result in extra restful sleep, so why do i do it?

    i liked reading about your meal out with yourself! i used to be afraid of dining out alone in public, but i’ve started enjoying that time with myself so much more lately! i’m glad you’re enjoying your little trip to my part of the country. 🙂

  2. man. i have bad skin. i have to apply lotion as soon as i get out of the shower. if i didn’t have to, i’d probably be slack on it too. let’s face it, i hardly prepare food for myself, i’m sure not going to moisturize.

Leave a Reply

