On the Fourteenth Day…

There is definitely an element of cruelness in the universe: just yesterday I posted about how good it is to take a rest day and how happy I was to be taking a rest day because it would put me in a position where I could fit in my five runs this week, and now here I am blogging from bed with an extremely upset stomach, utterly exhausted.  I’m not sure how I made it through the day.  All I know is that when I got home (still thinking I would be able to run in spite of my overwhelming fatigue and nausea!) all I could think of was sleep, and I pretty much passed out.

So I’m resting.  Today is day 14 of the Embrace:Me 30-day Challenge, and I am working hard to let myself have the gift of rest and recovery.  I know it’s the right, nice thing to do for my body and that there’s nothing to be gained from forcing a run, but that doesn’t mean I’m not having a hard time accepting it.  I’m also only offering these two short paragraphs for your enjoyment tonight, because coherent thought is pretty hard work at this point.  Along with these two paragraphs, though, some food for thought in the form of a recent TED talk.  This video contains a lot of stuff that I think we could talk about, and I’m hoping to cover some of those topics tomorrow when I’m feeling better.  Feel free to share your thoughts then, or in the comments here.

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 comments

  1. Hmmm…I keep seeing your stomach symptoms and they REALLY remind me of mine, from ages about 18-22. The nausea, the crippling pain, without any REAL explanation. I went through every test in the book and they didn’t find anything. They told me, essentially, it was in my head. Which of course enraged me. But to be honest…it’s only been since I decreased the stress level in my life that the mysterious pains have gone away. I still have a sensitive stomach, but now I can pinpoint specific foods (or eating TIMES, a big one for me) that will be problematic. But until I was quite a bit less anxious (which took therapy, meds, and certain life changes for me) they didn’t really get better. I hope this post helps, rather than making you mad – by all means, if you haven’t been tested for gall stones. celia, h. pylori and other stuff, do it! But otherwise you might wanna try and see how to better your quality of life. Incidentally, when I used to have the pains I was heavily into working out (1.5 hours of cardio a day, plus 1.5 hours of weight training 4 times a week) and I actually had to scale WAAAAY back on it to feel better. And most importantly, had to scale back on that mental guilt associated with the days where I didn’t work out.

    1. I had no idea you’d had so much trouble with your stomach! Not that it’s the kind of thing that comes up in everyday conversation…But yeah, my doctor and I are both pretty sure that the stomach trouble I’ve been having is stress-related. I’m pretty much constantly worried about money because my job pays next to nothing, and my stomach symptoms tend to change according to what’s going on in any given week. They’re also different during the week vs. on the weekends which kind of further suggests stress. My doctor has actually said to keep running, since it tends to help a lot when it comes to keeping things moving…hmm, it’s hard to talk about digestive issues without getting into too much detail!

      I think you are definitely right about working on quality of life stuff. I’ve gotten better about that lately, and I think I’m taking much better care of myself than I have in a while, but it’s definitely an uphill battle. Thanks for sharing–I really appreciate the input! And I’m glad you were able to work out your stomach issues, since they are no fun whatsoever.

  2. Hope you feel better soon. I sometimes feel the same way when I overdo it on a run. Maybe you did not eat enough calories to balance out your run. Nutrition is SUPER important if you want to improve. You might want to eat at least 1/2 of what you burned if you are not used to running that distance or expending that much effort. I found that out the hard way. I feel better and have faster recovery times when I eat right or enough for what I expended that day. I average around 1000+ per workout and if I do not get enough protein then my stomach will burn until I do.

Leave a Reply

