Embrace:…

Happy Embrace:Me Monday, lovelies!  Well, it was bound to happen eventually, right?  I don’t have a contribution for tonight’s post.  So instead, I thought I’d see if we could all make a bit of a contribution by sharing some of our favorite and most inspiring quotes.  I’ll start.

First, this could be our Embrace:Me motto (unfortunately, I think it’s already taken):

And a few more:

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.  Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.  It is out light, not our darkness, that frightens us most.  We ask ourselves, ‘Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and famous?’ Actually, who are you not to be?…There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that people won’t feel insecure around you…And when we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.  As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” –Maryanne Williamson

“Everything has beauty, but not everyone sees it.” —Confucius

“The best and most beautiful things in this world cannot be seen or even heard, but must be felt with the heart.” —Helen Keller

“Each morning when I open my eyes I say to myself: I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. I can choose which it shall be. Yesterday is dead, tomorrow hasn’t arrived yet. I have just one day, today, and I’m going to be happy in it.” —Groucho Marx

Now it’s your turn!

If you’d like to submit a contribution for Embrace:Me get in touch!  You can email me, or contact me through Facebook or twitter.  You can also become a fan of Embrace:Me on Facebook.  And finally, I’ve still got Embrace:Me stickers to give away.  It’s an Embrace:Me extravaganza over here!

Embrace:Me Challenge day 10: Today I had a cream puff.  I’ve been wanting a delicious dessert for a while now, and today I had one.  And it was delicious, everything I wanted and more!  I also donated money to disaster relief in Japan.  Among other things, doing good unto others is a way to do good unto oneself.  Mostly, though, it’s hard to find a reason not to do it.  Personally, I’m still trying to wrap my head around everything that has happened there, and my heart goes out to anyone who has been affected by these terrible events.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 comments

    1. Oooh, great idea! It’s nice to have all your quotes in one place for a quick shot of inspiration whenever you need it!

  1. Hey Emilie—I have one to contribute! The following quote always assuages my anxieties about the fact that even though we all need community, close relationships and intimacy, each person is always only within his/her own body and mind, and loneliness creeps up at the most unexpected moments.

    “One experiences over and over in every conflict and every perplexity that one is alone. That isn’t as bad as it may first appear; and again it is the best thing in life that each should have everything in himself; his fate, his future, his whole expanse and world.” -Rainer Maria Rilke

    At first I thought the quote was a bit narcissistic, but then I matured and realized that’s not the message at all–and I’d even venture to say that it suggests that in recognizing our own magnificence, we recognize the magnificence that surrounds us.

    1. This quote is really great, Diana, thanks for sharing it! Rilke quotes are always so complex and convey so much. It is really comforting, to me, because I frequently worry that I am not enough, and that I need others to validate my experiences and accomplishments, etc. Rilke points out why one is enough, and why one doesn’t need to turn outward so eloquently.

Leave a Reply

