Sunday rundown: March 7-13

Retailers generally favor DST. United Cigar St...

Image via Wikipedia

Ah, Daylight Savings Time.  I have such mixed feelings about you.  After all, I do enjoy having enough daylight to enjoy a run after work.  However, every year it takes my body a long time to adjust to the time change, and I resent losing that hour from my weekend.  There, I said it.  If that means we can’t be friends, then I guess I’ll just have to live with it.

When we turn the clocks forward, I always have a hard time adjusting.  I’ll wake up a little early but instead of going back to sleep for a little bit as I might usually do on a Sunday, I’ll get up, thinking that I can’t afford to waste this time, that this is the only thing I can do to make up for the fact that I’m losing an hour in my day.  It’s dumb, because I never really do anything productive on Sundays, but I always feel this way regardless.  And as a result of my getting out of bed prematurely, I feel really groggy all day.  I guess my Embrace:Me challenge thing for today should have been letting myself get the sleep I need.  Well, I’ll go to bed early.

Anyway, enough of my rambling, let’s get to the good stuff!  It was a great week for running, and apart from having my legs derided (I kid) and trying to get through some GI issues, I felt good.  Let’s break it down.

Monday: 20-minute Forrest yoga.  I’m not really sure how Forrest yoga is different than, say, Hatha yoga, but 20 minutes is probably not enough time to tell and I can say that it worked my lower back and hips a lot more than usual.

Tuesday: 4.25 miles of speedwork at the gym.  Now that I’m officially training for the Brooklyn half-marathon in May, I’m going to try being really diligent in my speed training.  This is one area where the treadmill can be super useful.

Wednesday: Rest day

Thursday: Ugh, GI distress day.

Friday: Not without more GI distress, but I decided to run through it because that’s how hardcore I am.  I ended up doing 6.4 miles, combining two 3-mile runs so that I would be on track to meet my mileage goal.

Saturday: 4.9 miles

Sunday: 7.5 miles, my long run.

Total mileage: 23.05, my highest in recent history.  It’s becoming clear to me that as I continue to increase my mileage, I’m going to have to really work to be kind to myself–get the rest I need, eat well, stretch, etc.  So this week’s mini-goal is to stretch after every run.  This past week I was not great at keeping up with a yoga practice, and I was even worse about stretching, and man, I feel it.

Embrace:Me 30-day challenge, day 9: At-home manicure!

Enhanced by Zemanta
10 comments

  1. Yoga is definitely awesome for stretching too :). That’s why I did when I was training for my half. I really need to get back into doing yoga more… I’ve slacked lately. Maybe I can make it this week *crosses fingers*. I don’t know the differences between each one to say which ones are the best… I just go to whatever classes are offered at my gym *shrugs*.

    At home manicure is a great way to take care of yourself :). My self-care for the day was taking a really awesome 2 hour nap this afternoon then getting in the hot tub post-run at the gym!

    1. Oh, yum, two-hour nap and some hot tub time? Sounds like your Sunday was super relaxing!

      Yoga is far and away my favorite way to stretch. This will be our week to get back into it!

  2. As a native Arizonan, I can never understand you folks in the rest of the country 🙂 Why do you mess with time? Why would you want MORE daylight?!

    I have to really remind myself to stretch after I run too, or else I’ll totally neglect it – not a good idea!!

    1. Honestly, I think I’d be perfectly happy if we never changed the clocks at all. For one thing, it would decrease the frequency of days like today, where I feel like I didn’t sleep at all and end up staring blankly at my computer screen for minutes on end, accomplishing nothing. This will go on for a few weeks, until my body finally catches on to the fact that we’ve been bumped up an hour.

  3. yeah i should have stretched/rolled after my long run yesterday but that is where my *laziness* comes in to play 🙂

    so today, i’m sore. go figure.

    i keep saying that “i am going to stay on DST” when time changes again in the fall but… so far i haven’t quite done that. i do wish we could just quit the whole thing though.

  4. I’ve been focusing this week on recuperating healthily after my runs too – I’m thinking that I need to re-start my hot yoga practice – it helps me mentally too!

Leave a Reply

