Sunday run-down: February 28-March 6

So far, this has been the highlight of my day:

I’m sorry for the fact that this is a clip recorded from someone’s television, but it’s the only one I could find, and I wanted to share this.  Nat and I have been watching the third season of RuPaul’s Drag Race all weekend, and I had to watch this over and over again because it made me laugh so hard.  I have been meaning to catch up on this show for a while now, and I’ve finally had a chance to!  These are the simple pleasures in life.

Apart from that, it has been a crappy day and I have spent most of it in bed because I feel horrible.  Lately I’ve been having this weird burning/pressure in my chest that I think may be acid reflux or heartburn (are they the same thing?), and my stomach has been really off.  Yesterday it was a bit upset, but today it has been the worst it’s been in a while, and I’ve had a headache off and on as well.  I kept hoping that I would spontaneously feel better and be able to go out for a run, but this did not end up happening.  At this point, I’m just crossing my fingers and hoping that tomorrow ends up better than today has been.

Really, this Sunday has been the end of a fairly lackluster week that was emotionally draining and pretty stressful for me.  Very little running and yoga-ing took place, so a run-down almost seems silly, but I’ll do one anyway.

Monday: Yoga!

Tuesday: lazy

Wednesday: planned to join the LUNAChix Team for a group run but ended up missing it because of the good ol’ MTA (in other words: a commute that took a great deal longer than it should have because New York City’s public transportation system, while extensive, is often slow and unreliable).

Thursday: lazy

Friday: 6.4 miles

Saturday: 6.6 miles

Sunday: sick

I have to say, 13 miles over two days is not too shabby, and I’m happy I got any mileage in at all.  Yesterday’s run was not good, but I’m happy I did it.  And now for some mini-goals for this week!  I realized this past week that I have a half-marathon coming up at the end of May, which means this is the perfect time to start training for it.  This week’s mini-goal will be to get my training underway, while (of course) continuing to work on the 30-day Embrace:Me Challenge!

Challenge Day 2: Sick days are probably the ones when you should be taking the best care of yourself; in reality, though, you feel so lousy that it’s hard to gather the energy needed to actually do something care-taking.  I’m sort of at a loss for today’s act of kindness, although since I suspect that a lot of what’s making me sick may actually be stress-related, I think maybe a brief meditation might be worth a try.  I plan to combine that with a hot shower and an early bed time.  If you’re participating in the challenge, what did you do for yourself today?

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 comments

  1. Well, I’m not sick today so I didn’t do any extreme caretaking, but I did have a nice workout and talked to a friend at the gym, then I came home, ate leftovers, watched a movie (Monsters vs. Aliens, haha- leave it to me to watch a kids movie), and just rested. I’m pretty tired after working last week and the crazy weekend, so I definitely needed to rest today… gotta love watching movies too!

    1. I love watching kids’ movies, and Monsters vs. Aliens was cute (then again, I have a major crush on Hugh Laurie, so maybe I’m biased)! It sounds like you had a nice, restful Sunday 🙂

  2. Sick days are hard. I hope you feel better tomorrow. I’m not done with the care-taking, but I know some reading in the bed will end the day. I love that challenge.

  3. Oh boy… I was going to do the Embrace:Me Challenge and I’ve completely spaced it! Probably because I’ve been so out of my schedule the past few days. I guess taking the time to go out for a run yesterday was taking care of myself, because for a moment I considered just skipping my run and trying to find things around my mom’s house to clean or work on for her while she napped. I’ve gotta do better at this challenge!

  4. do i need to start texting you at 5am? 🙂 (don’t worry i am not successful at it everyday)

    your week is beginning to look too much like mine. too much of that 4-letter L word…

    feel better health-wise and break a sweat! you know you feel better when you do!

    1. Haha, the L-word! I thought about you while I was writing that, *not* because I think of you as lazy, but because every time you write ‘lazy’ on your recaps I want to yell at you! You AREN’T lazy! And then I realized maybe I shouldn’t be using that word either…of course it didn’t stop me, though :p

Leave a Reply

