Review Re-visit: Sweaty Bands

This is my pirate face. And my unplucked eyebrow. And my thin Sweaty Band.

Approximately forever ago, I did a review of the two Sweaty Bands the company was kind enough to send me.  Actually, it was only about a month and a half ago that I wrote the review, but it feels like it’s been so much longer.

At any rate, here’s what I had to say about my Sweaty Bands at that time:

Unfortunately due to the weather, I haven’t had a chance to wear either of my Bands during a run (instead I’ve opted for an ear warmer) so I haven’t had a chance to test them while in full-on ultra sweat mode.  But I still sweat quite a bit while doing yoga, and I’m happy to say that I didn’t have to worry about getting sweat in my eyes while wearing a Sweaty Band.  To me, the combination of their ability to stay put and absorb sweat makes Sweaty Bands a big time winner.  They’re multifunctional, and they come in a huge variety of designs so you’re bound to find something you like.

The one problem I did have was with the thick Sweaty Band, which ended up poking me behind the ears a little bit after a few hours of wear at work.  This was due to the fact that the corners of the band (which you can see in the picture above) were rather stiff.  I’m not sure if this was because of the embroidered design or if there was some stiff backing in between the layers of fabric that hadn’t been trimmed entirely, but I didn’t have the same problem with the thin Band, which is much softer at the corners.  And as I said, this started to bother me after a couple hours, so if you had a stiff band and wore it for a shorter period of time, it would probably be fine.

Since writing that review, I’ve (obviously) used the Bands a whole lot more, and while wearing the thin one today I realized it might be worthwhile to re-visit my review and give an update now that I’ve had more of a chance to test-drive these bad boys.  I got my hair cut a couple weeks ago and it’s now all sorts of short lengths, so I find myself reaching for something that will hold my hair out of my face pretty much all the time.  Sometimes I end up with a Goody Stay-Put headband (and OMG their website is kind of annoying to use), which I like, but which doesn’t really live up to its name.  What I mean by that is that it tends to slide back, sometimes entirely off my head.  In this department, the Sweaty Band has it all over the competition.

However!  I’ve worn one Sweaty Band or another for most of this weekend, and my head hurts.  I have a headache, and my head also literally hurts.  I have little indents behind my ears where the corners of the Band hits; I took the Band I’d been wearing today off a few hours ago, and the indents are still there.  And they still hurt.  I don’t know, maybe I have a big head, although I’ve never had this problem with other things.  Maybe I have a soft head.  I don’t know.

They also do a great job of absorbing the sweat on your head (that sounds weird) and in your hair (which also sounds weird, but don’t act like your hair doesn’t get sweaty when you workout), but since they don’t have any contact with your forehead, yeah, you’ll definitely still get sweat in your eyes.  So just be aware that these things are no miracle workers.  They won’t vacuum the sweat from places they don’t otherwise reach.

The take-away: I still like the Bands overall, but I now know that I’ll have to use them with caution, and I’d advise you to do the same.  Avoid wearing them for too long, and maybe try to modify them in some way so that the corners of the band are a bit less pointy.

 

5 comments

  1. Thank you for the honest review! I have only heard great things about these but they were always sponsored reviews..I think I will save my money and stick with bobby pins for now!

  2. I love that you did a re-review… because there is often an initial reaction to things that can change over long-term use. I have actually lost 3 Goody stay-put headbands while out running though, they just popped right off my head! I could have taken them back home, but I was angry at them. (I picked them up and threw in a trash can nearby.)

    1. Those Goody stay-put bands slip off my head ALL the time. It’s too bad, too, because they are really comfortable to wear. I wish I could combine the staying power of a sweaty band with the comfort of a stay put band!

  3. You MUST try Sparkly Soul headbads — the problem with Sweaty Bands is that the fabric is static and only the black elastic part provides the stretch. The Sparkly Soul ones are ALL stretch, velvet on one side (and better quality velvet than Sweaty Bands) and all glitter and easy stretch on the outside. I’m a giant sports nut, so I need this kind of stuff and I’m also enormous, so I need pretty stuff to wear or else I look like a total monster.

    1. Oooh, all stretch is a good idea! And it looks like they are based in NYC–I’ll have to check them out! Thanks for the recommendation!

Leave a Reply

