Sunday run-down

Well, here we are.  It’s Sunday night at 7:27, most people are watching the Superbowl, and I’m ready to go to sleep.  I’m tired!  I don’t really know why!  But I think that once I finish this post, I’m going to climb into bed with a book or some knitting and not feel guilty if I fall asleep before 8:30.

Running-wise, this week was a success!  I finally hit my goal of running 15 miles this week, even though I only got three runs in.  Let’s break it all down:

Monday: um, nothing.  I mean, rest day!

Tuesday: Yoga (60 minute Baptiste practice with Dave Farmar)

Wednesday: 4 miles (kickin’ it treadmill [I had to resist the urge to add an ‘e’ to the end of that] at Lucille Roberts)

Thursday: rest

Friday: Yoga (30 minute heart opening flow)

Saturday: 7.5 miles

Sunday: 4.2 miles

Total mileage: 15.7 (!!)

My core work could use a bit of improvement.  The Baptiste practice I did included some, but other than that I didn’t work that area as much as I should have.  Something to improve on next week.

And speaking of next week, I’ve got my training goals all lined up.  Earlier today Nat and I scoured the stationery stores in our area for a calendar.  After failing at three different places, I found what I was looking for.

Yay!  There’s something about having a big calendar that I can write on that I find very motivating.  I had fun this evening writing out my training schedule for the rest of the month in different colors.

I’m hoping to pick up some gold star stickers in the next few days to make this even more fun.  Can you believe that we couldn’t find a place that sold both the stickers and the calendar?  It was frustrating.  All that aside, though, next week should be a good one!

What are your workout or healthy goals for the upcoming week?  Do you like to plan your week in advance or figure things out as you go along?

4 comments

  1. I like to plan my week out ahead; I don’t have a calendar to write it on but I am good at remembering in my head. I know that I’m running tomorrow and then again on Wednesday. After that, I have to see what the weather is like. I sure as hell don’t want to have to go outside at 5:00 a.m. to uncover snow off of my car and its windows on Thursday. That’s the pits. So if I don’t run again until Friday or Saturday, that’s fine. In between the running days, I will try and do some weights and cross-training. Maybe I should try a calendar too!

  2. Years ago, my aunt gave me an organizer for Christmas. I didn’t use it because it was big and just too much and too serious. Now that I work at home and grew up a little, I find it is simply fabulous. I use the monthly calendar to have a general picture of what is going on and what are my deadlines, events, workouts, etc., and I use the week planner for, well… planning my weeks. Every day is also broke into hours, so it is Planning Wonderland. I love it. Having a plan makes me feel comfortable and reduces a lot of my stress load. I work on a week plan on Sunday nights, and on the next day’s plan before I go to sleep. It works well for me. Hope it will help you too. I love the gold stars sticker idea.

  3. I’m easily excited by calendars / getting organized / writing my workout planned/actuals too 🙂 Course that doesn’t explain the extra lazy-days I’ve taken lately…

Leave a Reply

