Odds and Ends II

 

It’s been a long week, and my mind is kind of everywhere and nowhere at all.  Rather than rein it in, I figured I’d just do a second volume of Odds and Ends.

  • Thanks everyone for your support regarding what’s going on health-wise with Nat.  Apart from EKG results indicating that he may have an enlarged heart (he has to see a cardiologist to find out what that’s all about), we don’t really know much more than we did on Tuesday.  All I know is that I’m having a difficult time and crying a lot, I wish I could lock him away in a room and keep anything from ever happening to him, and if I could, I would give him my heart.  I mean literally, of course, since he already figuratively has it.  I also wanted to say thanks for the support on my post from yesterday.  That means a lot to me, too.
  • Speaking of Nat, I promised him a clarification.  He was upset that my mood graph from the other day seemed to suggest that I was unhappy when I got home, and that was his fault.  I tried to explain to him that it wasn’t him that made my mood drop, but the news about what had happened to him, but he wasn’t satisfied by this.  So I’ve made a graph of what my mood is like on an average day, and not a couple days that involve me being really upset about things.  For reference: lunch starts at 12:30 and ends at 1:30.  5:00 is when I get out of work but it’s only a slight improvement because I know I just have to get on the crappy subway, 5:40 is when I usually get home but I’m not at a 10 yet because I’m slightly annoyed by the crappy subway, and by 5:45 I’m happy to be home with Nat.  Then he leaves for class and comes back around 7:30, which is why I put that time in there.

  • I just read this article, and I’d like to do a post about it, probably tomorrow.  I think it brings up a lot of interesting things, not the least of which being how tone deaf the New York Times can often be when it comes to, well, just about everything.  Give it a read if you’re interested.
  • I decided to try doing every class on Yoga Download at least once.  There’s no time limit or anything for it, I just thought it might be fun to try it, and do little mini-reviews of the classes.  I’m hoping to set up a page for this little project sometime this weekend.  Feel free to send in a review if you’d like to share.
  • Lately I’ve been thinking of joining a gym.  There’s a Lucille Roberts branch close to my office, and apparently they have a membership plan that only costs $10/month.  But 1) I hate running on the treadmill; 2) I really don’t like other forms of exercise all that much.  I find anything other than running and yoga to be somewhat boring.  I mean, I’ll do them, but, you know; 3) I’m not a big fan of gyms.  I find most of them to be kind of stuffy (in terms of the air, not the attitude) and kind of blah, for lack of a better word.  Then again, the weather here sucks lately and I’m tired of it getting in the way of my running.  I’ll talk a bit more about gyms when I write about that article I mentioned above.
  • This is amazing.  Also weird because of all the weird little things about it that are similar to my life, including but not limited to the fact that the Emilie in it and I spell our names the same way, and our mothers are both named Susan.  I highly recommend it.

Any odds and ends you’d like to share?

 

6 comments

  1. I keep debating the gym thing… but I’m still a little afraid of it. But I think I’ve figured out something to keep my training/fitness interesting but not compulsive. I’ll be posting about it soon!

  2. I feel like a bad blog friend for not realizing something was up with Nat!! I hope you guys get some (good!) answers soon.

    Also haven’t forgotten about you – just haven’t mailed most of the stickers yet!

Leave a Reply

