If I had a million dollars

Obverse of the Series 2006 $20 bill

Image via Wikipedia

According to Nat, whose wisdom is infinite, there’s a study wherein it is determined that thinking about how you would spend the money won in the lottery is just as enjoyable as actually spending it.  Well, okay, sure.  Why not?  I wouldn’t be able to say one way or another because a) I’ve never had much money and b) I tend to not think about what I would do with a boatload of money (see point a, above).  But MegaMillions is up to something crazy like $350 million, so tonight Nat bought a ticket, which kind of got me thinking a little bit about what I would do with all that money.  The net winnings would be like $120 million, so there’s plenty of room to play around.

So!  The first thing I would do is use some of the money to set up some sort of scholarship that would enable students who wouldn’t otherwise be able to afford to go to college to actually go and not worry about whether they would be able to afford books, housing, or anything else.  Maybe it would be for girls in particular, and I would have to have some kind of selection criteria, but I haven’t thought that far ahead yet.

After that I would help my immediate family members pay off any debt or mortgages or anything like that.  I’d also establish accounts for all of them so that they’d have money in the bank, and I’d create college funds for my niece and my nephew.  My goal would be to set everyone up so that they’d be able to live comfortably and no longer have to worry about money.

Once I’d taken care of all the practical things, like paying off my student loans, and Nat’s student loans, I would get to the fun stuff.  In no particular order, here are the things I would do:

  • Buy either a condo or a house.  I’m sick of renting.  I want to own some property.  It doesn’t have to be huge or lofty but it has to be mine and it needs to be in a place where there are beautiful running routes for me to choose from.
  • Go back to school to get my MS in health education.
  • Get certified to teach yoga and coach running.
  • Open my own yoga studio and wellness center that would be accessible to a diverse group of people.  Not just people whose incomes allow them to practice yoga regularly, but also disadvantaged populations who need educational resources about health, wellness, nutrition, and exercise.  It would be the sort of place where the emphasis would be put on the individual and the community, and not the potential for profit.
  • Register for whatever races I wanted to run without thinking twice about the registration fees, travel expenses, and cost of gear.
  • For Nat, a fully stocked kitchen with an eight-burner stove, two ovens, and a huge refrigerator.  Personally I could care less about the kitchen, but it’s good that one of us is interested in food preparation because even though I don’t always want to eat, I do know that I have to eat.  In fact, if Nat didn’t enjoy cooking, I would consider putting money toward a personal chef.

I’m sure there are many, many other things I would do with that much money, but for now I think this list is just fine.  Do you ever think about what you’d do if you won the lottery?  How would you spend your money?

As an aside, thanks to everyone for your well wishes.  I’m feeling a bit better today but I’m definitely ready for this cold to see its way out of my body.  I’d like to get back to doing yoga and running, thanks.

6 comments

  1. I’m happy to know you feel better. I would do the EXACT same thing with that kind of money, except I’d go for kinesiology and get the kitchen for myself! That kitchen sounds amazing!

    I’ve been thinking of some sort of health center project for people who have little knowledge on nutrition or can’t afford fitness classes, especially women. They tend to earn less, but they also are more isolated because of their family responsibilities. Since they are role models for their children and are the ones who actually feed them, it would be a good place to start. I see scary things in mother’s carts at the grocery store. I feel sorry fort the kids.

    Since I never buy lottery, this will never happen, but I guess dreaming is good for the heart.

  2. First off, I have to say that on Monday night we had dinner at my mother-in-law’s, during which she spent some time theorizing on how she would spend the money. You could see that she had thought about this a lot.
    Secondly, your aims and intentions are very generous! I haven’t thought a whit about how I would spend the money because I haven’t bothered to buy a ticket. If there is no ticket, there are no winnings. But I seriously hope you (or Nat) win!

  3. Your first thing was to establish a scholarship, and the first thing that popped in my mind was to buy a new house! Guess I’m greedy! 😉 But I don’t want anything ostentatious, I just want to move out of my current neighborhood because a lot of my neighbors are kind of ghetto since the housing market crash brought values down so much.

    I would probably quit my job and invest money/time into making my friends’ race management company into a whole race management/wellness center (like their vision).

    I would let my husband quit his job, because he works too long of hours and the stress is taking a negative toll on his health and that makes me sad (and it take a toll on my health as well).

    Hope you’re feeling 100% soon!

  4. My husband and I were doing this last night too! Except we didn’t buy a ticket. It’s fun to imagine… I also do not want a huge house – I don’t want to have to fill it with “stuff” and I don’t want to clean it 🙂 the utility bills would be crazy too. Just something cute and not too small

  5. I love thinking about what I would do with lottery winnings…even though we never play. LOL

    I know I would want to help family and then get a new house. Ours is old and doesn’t have a good floor plan. I like it enough but would definitely go for something if I had the dough.

  6. I would leave my house and get an RV, Homeschool my kids at muesums, festivals and historic locations, as we traveled around the coutry, doing anonamous good deeds as we go.

    Now, about your comment, You can go back to school without winning the lottery. Thus the topic of my blog http://mother2 master.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

