Races: A wish list

First Chicago Marathon September 23, 1905. Lou...

Image via Wikipedia

I don’t really like the term “bucket list”, and although I don’t have a particular reason why, I kind of think it’s because it was coined from a movie.  It’s weird, though, because that’s not the sort of thing that generally bothers me.  So, I don’t know, maybe I just plain old don’t like the term “bucket list”.  I never really liked the expression “kick the bucket“, so I guess it makes sense.

At any rate, the holiday season is upon us and everyone is making lists and checking them twice.  Possibly thrice, if they’re overachievers.  People are thinking about what they would like to receive as a gift, what they will get for others, and if they aren’t yet, they’ll soon be thinking about their New Year’s resolutions.  I’m making lists, too, but not of the gift or resolution variety.  Instead, I’m thinking about the races I would like to run sometime during my life.  My running wish list, if you will.  It is by no means complete, and the races that are on it are there for a variety of reasons.  Hopefully, I will get a chance to run all of them.

Here they are, in no particular order:

  1. The Boston Marathon: isn’t this on every runner’s wish list?  I would love to someday run a BQ and add this one to my running resume.  I’ve got a long way to go, though, and I should probably think about breaking a 4-hour marathon before I set any loftier goals.
  2. The Ragnar Relay: a couple years ago I was this close to being on a Ragnar team that was going to run the Arizona relay.  I was so excited about it, but a really important team member got injured so we decided to cancel.  It wouldn’t have been the same to run without him.  But man, I would love another chance to run Ragnar.  I had a brief twitter exchange with Emily from the Front Burner about it, but I guess I’ll have to wait and see where that goes.
  3. The Charlottesville 10-miler: this was the first long-distance race I ever attempted.  I trained really poorly and as a result I ran it really poorly.  Redemption!!
  4. The Broad Street Run: I like running in Philly and this 10-miler is supposed to be flat, fast, and fun.
  5. The Marine Corps Marathon: If all goes well, I’ll be running this marathon in 2011.  I can’t wait to run 26.2 miles in my hometown!  Or the city that is close to my hometown, anyway.
  6. The Chicago Marathon: I’ve always wanted to go to Chicago and I think running a marathon through a city would be a great way to see a lot of it in a relatively short amount of time.
  7. The Nike Women’s Marathon: Does this one have a lot to do with the awesome amenities?  Um, yes.  Am I embarrassed about that? No.  Everyone knows that the perks you get from a race play a huge role in your decision to run it.
  8. The Goofy Challenge: The name given to running the Walt Disney World marathon one day and the half marathon the following day (I may have the order of the two races reversed, but you get the point).  I’d like to run these two races individually as well, but man, I want to do the Goofy Challenge so bad.
  9. All five of the NYRR Half-marathon series races: For the past couple years I’ve said I was going to run the half marathon in each of the five boroughs, but I have yet to do it.  I’ve done Manhattan and the Bronx, but that still leaves me with 3 to go.  Even if I don’t run them all in the same year, I plan to get to all of them.
  10. An ultramarathon: I don’t know where, but I know I want to do it.  Any distance above 26.2 miles would be amazing.  Maybe I’d start at 50k and then move on from there.  All I know is I want to run loooooooong.

There are undoubtedly races that I’m forgetting, but there’s no rule that says I can’t add to this list.  This is just the beginning.

Do you have a wish list (for races, or anything else)?  If so, what’s on it?

One comment

  1. i think we were supposed to be on the same ragnar team… but no one wanted to man up and be the new team captain. a couple of the other girls/ladies and i talk about that sometimes. lol. your list is pretty similar to mine! i’ve done some of the ones on there (goofy is a must!) and i would love to do an ultra — properly trained for it, of course.

Leave a Reply

