Little red lighthouse, little red lighthouse

File:WSTM Equipe C'est N'est Pas Une Pipe 0043.jpgHey, you know what’s a great idea?  Deciding that instead of doing your long run in familiar territory, it would be awesome to run somewhere you’ve never really been before!

Okay, I’m being sarcastic.  I don’t actually think it’s a very good idea to do a long run in an area you’re unfamiliar with unless you’re with someone else who is familiar with it or have at least spoken to someone else who’s familiar with it, or doing a sort of shorter distance, exploratory long run.  I ended up being lucky today, in that I (for reasons I can’t really explain, but which I think had more to do with boredom than anything else) decided to run north in Riverside Park instead of south, the direction I usually go when I run down there (which isn’t very often).  I had to avoid Central Park today because most of it was closed because of a little race called the ING New York City Marathon.  You might have heard of it?

Heading north, in my case, means heading up toward the George Washington Bridge (a very visible landmark, very hard to miss) and the Little Red Lighthouse (a less visible landmark, but still visible from a few miles away).  I had a general sense of where I was going, but not much else.  It was pretty nice, actually!  Apart from an extremely stinky stretch that I had to visit twice because this was an out-and-back run, I enjoyed it.  For the most part as you head north you’re running alongside the water.  While I was going out, this also meant I was running into a pretty crazy wind.  I ran about 3.5 miles north before turning around and going back down south for several miles.  This took me pretty far south (from where I started, anyway).  This trail is kind of hit or miss, really.  As you go further south, you’re running along the West Side Highway, and who doesn’t love running alongside quickly-moving traffic, amirite?!  There are some nice parts where you’re next to the water again, but I think I prefer Central Park, which is probably why I run there far more often.

One big advantage to Riverside Park, though, is that it’s pretty flat.  I think this is what explained my average pace, which came out of nowhere!  My overall time for 15 miles was 2:23:02, which is about 30 seconds per mile faster than my previous long runs (minimum).

I started off at a comfortable pace, but since my Garmin never gives an accurate pace during the first mile of a run, I didn’t really know where my pace was until Mile 2, which I ran in 9:37 (I was going pretty much the same speed I had for my first mile, but the Garmin tells me that mile was 10:20.  Okay.)  From there, the run looked like this:

Mile 3- 9:38

Mile 4- 9:26

Mile 5- 9:38

Mile 6- 9:28

Mile 7- 9:33

Mile 8- 9:23

Mile 9- 9:27

Mile 10- 9:14

Mile 11- 9:15

Mile 12- 9:19

Mile 13- 9:28

Mile 14- 9:31

Mile 15- 9:42

I had started out thinking maybe I should slow down, because in previous long runs when I had started out at a pace like this, I’d crashed pretty hard long before reaching my goal.  I’m not sure what made me decide to try to hold a faster pace for this run.  I also wish I could say that this meant I felt a little bit more sure of myself when it came to the marathon, and what sort of time I could expect, but I don’t.  My pace has really been all over the place over the past few months, so I’m not sure what will happen on November 21.  At some point soon, I want to start working toward a goal time, but I’m not really sure how.  I guess that will be my next big project, perhaps for the 2011 Marine Corps Marathon…

6 comments

  1. Maybe you ran a faster pace because you felt some anxiety what with being in unfamiliar, uncharted territory? Although, I really want to know, who took the picture of the Little Red Lighthouse (which is really cute, I might add)? Was it you? You brought your camera along for your run, right? Well, good job today!

    1. Haha, no, unfortunately I didn’t bring my camera. I wish I had because it would have been fun to take some pictures. I found this picture through the Wikipedia commons. It is a cute lighthouse, hopefully I can make it all the way up there someday and take some pictures of my own!

  2. J’adore cette photo, Emilie! Et quelle belle sortie. Ton pace est impressionnant pour une course de cette envergure. Je suis confiante que tu auras une belle expérience à Philadelphie.

    J’ai ouvert un compte pour blogger moi aussi. Viens faire un tour quand tu as du temps: http://formedefemme.tumblr.com.

    Bise,

    S.

    1. Merci, bella! J’adore ton blog et j’ai hâte d’en lire plus. Tu as un style super beau, et j’aime toujours lire tout ce que tu écris alors la création de ton nouveau journal intime me donne grand plaisir. Mais comment fait-on des commentaires là-dessus? Ça me laisse toujours un peu perplexe, tumblr.

      1. Hum… je ne suis pas certaine de trop savoir à propos des commentaires. Je suis débutante. Je vais faire une petite recherche.

Leave a Reply

