The Yoga Project

To start us off, I offer a cautionary tale.  I take anti-depressants.  I ran out on Wednesday, and tried to get refills on Thursday but was thwarted by the evil Duane Reade.  Duane Reade claims to be a drug store, but it’s actually just an instrument of the devil, and will turn every easy task on your to-do list into a complicated, drawn-out process that ends with you sick in bed at home.  Part of the problem is that when I don’t have my medication, my body very quickly goes into withdrawal, which entails severe nausea, and very unpleasant dizziness.  I’ve been walking around looking a little bit like this:

Except with a bit more of a greenish tint.

At any rate, knowing this, I should have tried to get my medication sooner, but it usually doesn’t happen as soon as it did this time.  And since I couldn’t get my scrips filled on Thursday (at which point I was already jonesing), I ended up having to leave work this morning because I was just so sick.  I managed to get my drugs on my way home, and after sleeping for about two and a half hours, I’m now trying to return to the land of the living.  I feel marginally better, but mostly I’m trying to keep my spirits up with things like this:

One of my favorite videos.  A few things I want to say, just in case anyone is paying attention…1) Christmas is coming, the goose is getting fat!  If you’re trying to figure out what to get me I would love a copy of ‘The Kids are Alright’ on DVD. 2) Some other stuff I forgot.  Oh well, at least I was able to work in that obvious hint.

This is all completely unrelated to the fact that I’ve been thinking a lot about how I can make this taper period (and, obviously, post-marathon training period) more tolerable for myself without giving in to the desire I’ve been having to either purge or restrict.  Embracing healthy habits, people, that’s what it’s all about!!  Anyway, I’d really like to incorporate more yoga into my weekly routine.  That way I can use my body in a healthy way, but not run more than I should be while tapering.  I was looking around for inspiration on the internet and came across this, which links to this although I  can’t really figure out if it’s still active.  If so, it seems like a great idea.  If not, I’m considering starting something similar.  I’m not thinking especially quickly today (see above), but I have come up with a few ideas about what I’m looking to do.  I’d like to have a bit of a community wherein people have pledged to engage in a healthy behavior (it can be something you’ve been meaning to start, or a healthy behavior you want to use to replace a less-than-healthy behavior, or whatever), and act as a support system for everyone regardless of whether they have the same goal.  My goal, for now, is to work two yoga practices into my week.  They can be of any length, any difficulty, etc.  The important thing is just to use my body in a way that is different but still active, positive, and healthy.

Let me know if you have a goal you would like to share.

7 comments

  1. Need something to take your mind off of weight, take up smoking! No wait. Don’t. 😛

    I did want to say that I think it’s cool that you’re being all aware of your inclinations and fighting them. That’s good thinkin’, Lincoln! Sorry, I had to throw that in because D. gets a huge kick out of it and laughs every time we say it. (Or she used to; she might have moved on now, you know how kids are.)

    Goals? My goals are just to freaking commit to my previously stated goals. 😛

  2. well i suppose my goals i’m currently working away on are “30-mins of exercise everyday” and no sugar in november. the 30-mins can be anything – a walk, yoga, workout dvd, weights, bike, run… as long as i’m moving.

    i also must commend you on working so diligently at taking care of yourself and keeping yourself ‘in check’!

Leave a Reply

