Tomorrow morning

[Sunrise or sunset]Today is the second day of November and the days are getting shorter and shorter.  If you’re me, and you don’t belong to a gym, and you work from 9 to 5, that means there is precious little daylight available for your running enjoyment.  WHAT’S A GIRL TO DO?  Well, get a little bit creative, I guess.  Either that or start hibernating which, while it would be kind of nice, might get boring after a while.  And put a damper on both maintaining any sort of training schedule as well as any kind of income.  So I might as well cross that one off the list.

If I’m to believe the Weather Channel (not always a reliable source of information), the sun is supposed to rise tomorrow at 7:29 am and set at 5:50 pm.  The temperature at 6 am will be a brisk 38 degrees.  And I, if all goes according to plan, will be running.

Now I know I’ve had some problems getting up to go running in the past, and yes, it’s true that I set my alarm clock for 5:30 am every night and re-set it to 7:00 am every morning when it goes off.  But! we’re getting to a point here where eventually, it will be dark by the time I get home.  And while I know that if I go running in the morning, it will be dark while I start, at least it will gradually get lighter.  This as opposed to running at night when I’ll just be surrounded by inky blackness, which makes me feel kind of claustrophobic.

I’m hoping this little morning running endeavor will be good for me.  And that next week it will be a little bit easier, once we’ve set the clocks back.  And if it turns out that I don’t manage to get out in the morning in spite of all my efforts, well, then…I don’t know.  It will be time to put plan B into action.  I’m not entirely sure what plan B entails, but joining a running club will probably be involved somehow.  Right now I’m looking at both the Reservoir Dogs and the New York Flyers.  If anyone knows anything about either, feedback would be welcome.  I mean, not to sound like I’m not confident about my ability to get up and go running in the morning.  It’s just…you know…be prepared, and all.

2 comments

  1. good luck! i keep trying to get up for an AM run but… sleeping through my alarm. ugh. i’d much rather run in the morning-dark than the night-dark, at least there are less cars to worry about.

Leave a Reply

