Ups and Down

Happy Sunday, everybody!

Personally, I’m not a huge fan of Sundays.  When I was little they stressed me out because they marked the return to school.  Now they stress me out because they mark the return to work.  But I have to say, Sundays do get a bit better when you’re training for a marathon–for me, at least, Sundays are long run days, and that means that after tackling some serious mileage, I get to come home and be lazy for the rest of the day.  And per a new tradition, my fiancé and I go out and get ice cream.  It’s probably not the healthiest post-long run snack, but I feel like I deserve it.

Lately I’ve been trying to start my Sundays with peanut butter and jelly on a whole wheat bagel.  It’s a quick, simple meal that delivers a pretty good dose of what I’ll need while out running.  It doesn’t bother my stomach (this is key), and it seems to keep me going pretty well.  This morning, after eating and hanging around for a while, I decidedit was time to practice my headstand.  I’ve been practicing this a lot, since we’ve been working up to it in yoga and it’s always been a goal of mine to get up into a headstand and hold it, unassisted.  Well, this morning, I did it! It may seem silly, but this is a big deal to me.  I’ve been working on it for a while, and being able to get up on my own this morning, and then hold it long enough for my fiancé to take a picture was a really positive experience.  Being in a headstand makes me feel strong and proud of my body, and reminds me how far I’ve come in the past year.  Not too long ago, I was in the hospital deal with severe depression and an eating disorder.  Now I’m standing on my head, and able to understand and appreciate what that means about my recovery, my strength (both mental and physical), and my future.  Honestly, this is an example of a yoga pose demonstrating that you can do anything if you just apply yourself and work hard.  This picture is of the second handstand I did this morning.  After coming out of this one, I decided I would try one more time, just to make sure I wasn’t dreaming, since being able to do it after working on it for such along time made it seem unreal.  Headstand is a pretty hard pose, and can leave your whole body pretty fatigued.  So needless to say, the third attempt was not exactly a charm…

Whoops.  Well, lesson learned.  Stop after two headstands.

A little while after falling on my bum, I went out for my long run.  I had 11-12 on the schedule, and I’d been hoping to get through 12, but I only made it through 11.5.  And that was after quite a bit of pep-talking and sitting down for a couple minutes.  It was not at all what I had been expecting, especially since just two weeks ago I had the long run from heaven.  Of course, a week ago, I was sick in bed.  But, two weeks ago!  What happened?!  Obviously, 11.5 miles is nothing to scoff at, but having to stop and sit down makes me a little bit nervous.  So I started thinking about what may have gone wrong, and how I might be able to run a bit better next week.  Here’s what I’ve come up with:

  • My diet has been pretty good.  My hydration has left a little bit (a lot bit?) to be desired.  Note to self: YOU NEED TO DRINK WATER CONSISTENTLY.  When you are dehydrated, or even just under-hydrated, you aren’t going to feel good.
  • Like I mentioned, last week I was sick.  When I blogged about it, it seemed like sinus congestion.  Over the week it developed into a cough and has been affecting my lungs a bit.  I won’t discount the possibility that it took its toll today.  Coughing while you’re running?  Having a nose that’s running like a faucet and interrupting your breathing?  Not great.
  • I was a little lazy yesterday (and also just tired, having not slept all that well) and didn’t get out for my run until pretty late in the day.  Since I was tired on Friday as well, I did a shorter run at that point, and did about 6.5 miles yesterday.  Maybe not the best idea before a long run.
  • As I just mentioned, I haven’t been sleeping well at all.  This week I’m going to start tweaking my sleep hygiene a little bit to see if that helps anything.

I think that’s a pretty good list of things I can try to watch out for next time around.  And to be honest, it’s actually a little bit fun to have to think about what went wrong, and what could be improved next time.  Not every run is going to be perfect, and I think it’s important to understand what works and what doesn’t, which you can only learn by making mistakes and trying to correct them.  As my headstand this morning proves, things won’t always go smoothly, and sometimes you end up falling on your face (or butt) doing something you know you’re capable of.  It doesn’t mean you can’t do it or that you never will, just that it wasn’t the right time and that you can keep working and do better next time.  So that’s what I’ll do.  For now, though, I’m going to sit here in my new pink compression socks and wait for ice cream time (8:06 pm) time to roll around.  It is lazy Sunday, after all.

3 comments

  1. Way to go!!!! I understand about how proud you are of yourself. I feel the same way, coming from a different health crisis as you.

    Great job and keep it up!

Leave a Reply

