You are my candy girl

I’ve been away for a while.  I don’t really feel like getting into it, so I’m not going to right now.  I do have running-related things to say, and I’ll try to say them in the coming days and weeks.  But today, I am going to say something else, which is:

I read this article today.  And then I read this one, and then I thought about how much I love Hugh Laurie.  But that’s beside the point.  The first one was disturbing, I guess because I try really hard to sort of blissfully ignore how unhealthy sugar can be, and also because I’m not typically a big sweet tooth person.  Except when I’m stressed and having a hard time emotionally (and still eating), and lately I’ve been both of those things and I feel like I’ve been turning to sugary stuff far too often for it to be good for me.

So I think what I’m going to try to do is cut sugar out for the the next month.  I’m not entirely sure what the parameters will be yet–I’m not going to beat myself up, for instance, for eating sugar unintentionally, and I’m going to try to cut out as much as I can while understanding that it seems like everything we eat has sugar in it and it would probably be hard to cut it all out without resorting to making everything from scratch, which I have neither the time nor the inclination to do.  I just want to be a little bit more aware of the amount of sugar I’ve been consuming, and more conscious of vastly reducing that amount.

Maybe it will help my mood, too.  Who knows?

5 comments

  1. oh no! this is quite the challenge. i know i need to cut back/cut out sugar desperately… i’ve been doing bad. i feel somewhat addicted though – if i don’t “prepare” myself with a little bit to have each day then i might binge and pig out. it’s a tough battle, but it can be conquered! maybe your success will be the motivation i need to clean up my own act? 🙂 good luck!

  2. I really enjoyed that article about Hugh Laurie. I keep forgetting that he’s speaking with an American accent on “House.” As for eating too much sugar, I agree that many of us are. And if it’s not sugar, it is a million other additives. Where will the madness end!?

  3. Hey Em,
    I have cut out sugar before, in the spirit of I’m not going to voluntarily add sugar to the things I consume and I will not eat “sweets” or drink juice unless it is natural with no added sugar. I have to say that the first two weeks can be hard, but afterwards the cravings for it really diminish, to the point of no longer really needing it. It is greatly liberating, when one is a stress eater as I am, to be able to look at something such as a cupcake or a candy bar or even sugar in my coffee and not feel tempted! Good luck and let me know how it goes!!
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

