Tuesday is Monday again

I’ve heard it said that it takes some people as long as six weeks to adjust to the time change that takes place during Daylight Savings Time.  I definitely fall into that group.  I’d been feeling kind of off-balance and disoriented for the past few weeks, but this week the time change has just made it worse.  But that’s sort of irrelevant.

Anyway, without getting into too many details, I’ll just say that last week was a pretty rough one, and the weekend was a record low for me.  Last night I thought I might be going back into the hospital…for a third time.  Because you know what everyone says about the third time around.  Sigh.  Sometimes it’s hard to keep perspective and remember that, as my sister always reminds me, this too shall pass.

This is a new week, and with that comes another chance to make things better (or at least keep things from getting worse), and one key to keeping things on track (as far as I’m concerned, anyway) is having goals.  I’m going to try to make my goals for this week a bit more concrete than they usually are because in previous weeks they’ve been somewhat nebulous, and I don’t think that really helps matters.  So here are my goals for the week.  Share yours in the comments.

  1. Stick to my training schedule, as laid out in the column on the left.  I’m not going to worry about yoga or weights or cross-training this week, I think it’s enough to just get back on track with running since I missed about twelve miles last week.
  2. Work on balanced eating and getting my food journal going again.  Things really fell apart over the past couple weeks and I haven’t been consistent about this at all.  I really need to take control back and change that.
3 comments

  1. Let’s hear it for positive vibes! I’m sending some too. It sounds to me like you’re in control; that’s a good thing. I like what you say about your goals; I think it’s important to focus on the biggies. First of all, take it one week at a time. If you have to scratch something for the week, so be it; just be sure you scratch the small stuff, like the yoga or the weights or cross-training or whatever. That can come at another time. Just get the run in because, ultimately, that’s what you love. So that should come first. I have weeks when I end up skipping a few workouts so I try to make the skipped sessions be the non-run sessions. Good luck! Keep up the good work; you are doing great!

Leave a Reply

