Monday goals, one day late

I had time yesterday to update my training page to reflect my plans for this week, but I didn’t get a chance to talk about my goals for the week.  So here they are, one day later than they should be!

This week’s first goal is to get back on track with my food journal.  Keeping a food journal actually makes me obsess less about what I’m eating, reminds me that I’m not overeating, and lets me see when I’m undereating.  Lately I’ve been slacking a bit when it comes to keeping up with the journal, which has got to stop!  I need to get back into the habit of recording my meals.

My second goal is to get to the gym and get in the cross-training I have been trying to do for the past two weeks!  The last two weeks, I’ve been in not-the-best mood, and it has been a struggle just to get my running in.  This week I want to make it to the gym to lift some weights and do a little bit of cross-training no matter what.  Obviously, this always ends up being easier said than done, but I’m hoping that some of the things that have been going on in my personal life that have been creating some difficulties will start to clear up this week and leave me feeling like I’m living in a swirling chaos of negative emotion.  I also need to be proactive about reminding myself how good I feel when I lift weights, and what an important component of balanced, overall health cross-training is.

On the calendar for today is a 4-mile Fartlek run.  I’ve been playing around a bit with the McMillan Running Calculator since Lindsay mentioned it in a recent comment, and I think it might be fun to try and train according to the way it breaks things down.  My goal for this run is to do the ‘on’ intervals somewhere between 8:30 and 8:55/mile.  Even though it’s a lovely day outside, I might end up at the gym for this one, just so that I don’t risk getting frustrated with my whack-a-doo Garmin.

So that’s me, folks.  What’s up for you this week?

UPDATE: My friend Kara posted about a 30-day arm challenge that she is going to do.  I think I’m going to join her, and whip my upper-body into shape as well!  Lord knows my arms could use it!!  Anyone else want to join in?  You can get more information on the challenge here.

3 comments

  1. Well, I for one did not make it to the gym over the weekend, and I suppose I could use the fact that Luke’s been a sickie for the past few days as an excuse, but I also could’ve pushed harder to carve a space to do it. Still, though, it will be a lot easier once I can work out during the week – then i won’t have to rely so heavily on grabbing a space of 30 minutes on the weekends. (The real reason I have problems is because I have a resistance to leaving Dan with both of the kids at the same time for too long, since I don’t want to overburden him. So if he has spent most of his day taking care of one or the other of the children, even if I’ve spent most of my day doing the same, I don’t feel like i can go, even though he says otherwise. Time management=not my forte right now.)

    Anyway, my goal in terms of fitness for the month is a very gradual one; I just want to make it into the gym Saturdays and Sundays, and use the treadmill for 30 minutes each time. I want to try to do elevations one of these days, and running intervals the other – very small, easing-into-it intervals of 2m/walking and 1m/running, at a 5 mile/hr pace. Once I make it to April I’m going to try to rearrange my pumping-at-work schedule so that I can fit 30 minutes a day of free time in, and see how I can go from there, but that’s next month. 🙂

    This month’s dietary goals just remain trying to keep control over what I’m eating, which is hard, because I get so frustrated from my dietary restrictions that I tend to just eat whatever, whenever. I’m not exactly putting on weight (due to the caloric output of breastfeeding) but I am feeling my health decline, regardless.

  2. Okay, here’s my goals this month. I lately have made it to running 4 miles. I want to go a little farther, like maybe 4.5 miles over the next couple of weeks. And I want to do short runs once a week where I can run a little faster. I also want to start running outside once a week. I haven’t run outside since last summer! Shame on me! I’m stuck on the treadmill and I actually kind of like it because it’s so controlled. But it’s also boring. So that’s my big goal this month is to get outside.
    As for diet, your father and I are eating more healthy and it’s paid off for him. His blood sugar is down a lot as is his cholesterol. We (or at least I) eat meatless at least once a week. We eat hardly any red meat, mostly poultry. I would say we have done a very good job. He’s lost about 23 pounds and I feel pretty satisfied with my current weight and am trying to maintain it.

  3. Great goals! I just this week started tracking my food and have noticed a huge difference in what I am eating. Because I am more aware of what I am putting into my mouth (because I have to account for it) I am choosing healthier. It’s kind of a fun challenge. I am trying not to get down on myself if I am not perfect, but I have cut out a bunch of mindless snacking. So far so good!

    I have heard of a fartlek run, but now can’t remember what it is. But good luck to you and your goals! I just recently started doing a morning boot camp that is working my bod! It rocks!

Leave a Reply

