Happy Birthday, Roger Daltrey!

I loooooove you.

March 1 is always a big deal to me because not only does it mark the end of my least favorite month, it also means it’s time to celebrate the birth of the best thing that ever happened to music, EVER.  I know there are two “ever”s in there, it’s intentional.  For emphasis.  I wanted to see if I could find a montage of clips of Roger swinging his microphone during performances because man, that’s sexy, but I couldn’t.  So instead, here’s a little video of him explaining how the whole thing got started.

I would someday like to meet Roger Daltrey.  When I was a senior in high school, I wrote him a letter inviting him to my senior prom.  It was a great letter!  Unfortunately, he never got it because it was sent back.  Apparently I had the wrong address.  Anyway, Roger, if you’re reading this, please have your people call my people.  Or just email me.

Anyway, enough of that.  On to weekly goals.  After a crummy weekend, I’ve been determined to stay upbeat today.  So far, so good.  After all, it’s hard to get down on Roger Daltrey’s birthday.  Since I missed yesterday’s race, I decided to sign up for a bunch more, including the Brooklyn Half-Marathon on May 22.  Looking at the calendar this morning, I realized that gives me a solid twelve weeks of training time.  And then I found a twelve-week training plan!  How better, I thought, to revive my flagging running than to start a training plan?  I’ve set up my training page with this week’s workouts, which will bring me to a total of 21 miles for the week, which is pretty much exactly where I want to be.  So my primary goal this week will be sticking to that plan.

Other goals:

  • Spend some time each day practicing positive self-talk and, related to that, try harder to catch and correct the negative self-talk.
  • 2-3 days of weights or yoga.
  • Balance again!  I still need to work on getting to the gym, drinking more water, and developing a better sleep schedule.

What will you be working on this week?

8 comments

  1. Where would this world be without Roger Daltrey? It’s definitely a way better place because of his being on this planet. And getting a training plan is an excellent idea. That should give you some structure and maybe that’s what you need. Good luck, I hope this works out for you!

  2. thanks for not thinking i am too hippie 😉 i know sometimes it sounds that way to people who are too science-y (or are in my opinion anyway). i’m not out worshipping trees or anything but i do like to take a pretty-level-headed approach to the way things are all interconnected.

    what perfect timing on that 12-week plan! convenient how that works out 🙂 this week i am hoping to hit my goal mileage and get in at least 1 day of strength training again.

  3. Roger Daltry is okay I guess. I mean he’s no Bryan Adams or anything. I’m also pretty sure he has worn a wig since 1983 when he lost all his hair in a freak chemical explosion in his kitchen. I don’t believe the rumors that it was an attempt to contact the devil and renegotiate his contract, but maybe I’ve been wrong before.

      1. I don’t know. He sounds pretty reasonable to me. I’ve also heard about the devil pact kitchen explosion thing. Just look at his hair. How can that be real? It defies gravity. Wouldn’t his follicle muscles get tired holding up those massive curls? And before you suggest excellent conditioning, I think giant follicle muscles would just deform his head, so if it is real hair, he must have a really ugly scalp.

        By the way, the Northern Shoveler is perhaps my second favorite duck species, the beautiful Surf Scoter, of course, being my favorite.

Leave a Reply

