Mid-week inspiration

This morning I’ve been catching up on others’ blog posts.  I have to say, I’ve been really bad about reading and commenting lately.  Sorry to everyone!  I’m not meaning to ignore or snub anyone, I’m just a little slow with everything thing (including returning phone calls and emails).  That said, one thing that really struck me about the posts I read was how many people were sharing stories of inspiration, which got me thinking about what inspires me more.

In one of her recent posts, Terri at Middle-of-the-Pack Girl brought up the feeling of complete exhaustion you sometimes get after several days of running–I think everyone has probably experienced it, the feeling that three miles is just too much for your poor, tired legs even though you ran twice as much with no struggle earlier in the week–she contrasts this with the story of Paul, whom she met through Twitter, who is running across the country, from California to New York.

This story reminded me of one of my favorite people in the world (and no, I don’t know him personally, but I know he’s awesome): Eddie Izzard.  Last year, after five weeks of training, Eddie ran 1,100 miles through England over the course of seven weeks.  I’ve run a handful of races for charity, but I can’t compete with 43 marathons.  That’s just incredible.  I have a tendency to think of this when I feel tired on a run.

Finally, I came to Jill‘s post about Joe, who is running 2 marathons 13 days apart to benefit his friend Dom, who is being treated for gastrointestinal cancer.  You can read more about Joe’s project on his blog.

I also have to admit that I feel inspired on a daily basis by my fellow bloggers, who all manage to accomplish pretty extraordinary things.

So there you have it–a mid-week pick-me-up, in the event that you need it.  If nothing else, maybe you can read about some of this stuff and feel good about your fellow humans.  And then think about what inspires you, and tell me about it in the comments.

3 comments

  1. Man, now I REALLY want to get back into running!

    The “go to the treadmill” goal for the weekend is actually about trying to *walk* first and get back into that habit. It’s going to be at least another month before I will have enough time throughout the week to actually start trying to run again, since I have no time during the day and won’t until I don’t need to pump to feed the baby so much anymore.

    I had no idea about Eddie Izzard… that is pretty cool. 😀

  2. Eddie Izzard is a good one to mention… I was blown away when I read about his running mission!

    When people take on such huge feats of endurance for causes they truly believe, that really inspires me.

  3. i understand! i can’t always make the rounds as fully as i’d like, but i’m always reading 🙂

    i am often inspired reading all the running blogs! it’s tough at work because i just want to get up and run when i am catching up on blogs but i’m stuck at work. sometimes that inspiration does not make it all the way home with me… sheepish grin. just reading about great athletes in general makes me want to get up and move!

Leave a Reply

