Weekly goals: Balance

One thing I’ve learned recently is that planning for things is *really* important for me.  The moment I have nothing to do and no structure to adhere to, I start to unravel.  I get far more accomplished when I’m busy than I do when I have a lot of free time, at which point I tend to just let everything go.  That’s why I’m going to start posting my goals for the upcoming week here on my blog.  Hopefully having an idea of what I want to accomplish over the course of the week (and the accountability) will keep me in line and heading toward completion of my projects.

This week, I want to focus on balance: balanced eating, balanced exercising, and balanced sleeping.  I’ve already said a little bit about how I want to incorporate more balance into my exercise routine and the goal this week is to actually implement that plan.  I’m hoping to do about four days or 20 miles of running, two days of weight training, and one or two days of cross-training.  In an ideal world, I would have a structured schedule depicting what this would look like–maybe that’s a goal for tomorrow?  I know that having something concrete means that I’m more likely to stick to the plan 🙂

As far as eating is concerned, I’m proud to report that I’m doing much better than I have in the past few months.  The key now is to add variety to my meals, because I can see myself falling into “safe food” patterns, where I feel uncomfortable eating things that don’t fit into a somewhat arbitrary category of what I consider to be healthy.  In other words, there are some foods that I feel comfortable eating and that don’t cause me any distress; there are others that cause deep distress–these tend to be restaurant meals, things that I feel have “too much” fat, etc.  So this week I’m going to make an effort to prepare more of my meals (as opposed to just having peanut butter and toast), eat more varied fruits and vegetables, and drink lots of water.

Finally, I’ve found myself either sleeping normally, or really oversleeping lately.  When I say oversleeping, I don’t mean I’m sleeping through things, but I’ll wake up earlyish and then go back to sleep and sleep HARD for two more hours.  Then I wake up with a killer headache.  I’ve been choosing sleep over running in the morning, and I don’t feel rested during the day as much as I just feel like I’ve overslept.  This week I really want to make an effort to go to bed a bit earlier, and wake up a bit earlier so that I don’t screw myself out of a workout or a few productive, quiet hours in the morning.

Do you have any goals this week?  Maybe we can all keep each other on target 🙂

3 comments

  1. I had goals for last weekend which were mainly to get to the gym and just walk on the treadmill both Saturday and Sunday. Unfortunately when you have two kids this is SO HARD. Gonna try again this weekend…

    BTW yay on the eating front! Happy to hear it 😀

Leave a Reply

