Happiness is…

Many thanks to Lisa, someone whom I admire as a runner, a blogger, and a woman in general, for tagging me as a Beautiful Blogger.  This means I now have to list 7 things that make me happy, which is actually a really good exercise for me to do at this point in my life.  So here we go:

1.  My niece and nephew.  I don’t think I’ll have children of my own (I’ve just never felt particular incline to), but man do I love these two with a ferociousness that I didn’t know I had in me.  Nothing brightens my day like interacting with them.

2.  Music.  My sisters and I were brought up in a household where music was hugely important and as a result I think we grew up listening to some of the best stuff out there.  The three of us are now pretty major music snobs (it’s not a bad thing), and there are certain songs that I can’t hear without grinning ear-to-ear, which is awkward when I’m walking down the street listening to my iPod.

3.  A good run.  I think that one’s self-explanatory.

4.  Spending time with people I love.  Also self-explanatory.

5.  (closely connected to #4) Laughing with my mom about dumb stuff, like that old commercial for a weight loss product with the one guy who says “Two days later I lost ten pounds”, “Dude, run!”, or our awesome ideas for websites.

6.  Wes Anderson movies.

7.  A “House” marathon (or DVD), a knitting work-in-progress, and a blanket.  I would say on a rainy/cold/snowy day, but the honest truth is that if you just leave the blanket out for the warmer months, this applies year-round.

Here’s the part where I tag other beautiful bloggers; of course the little problem with this is that most of the bloggers I read have already been tagged so I don’t think I’ll make it to 7.  Also, ‘Beautiful blogger’ seems kind of effeminate so I hope my male buddies won’t take this as a slight to their masculinity, or even feel obligated to participate:

  1. Kara
  2. Charlotte
  3. Susan
  4. Bret
  5. Rachel

2 comments

  1. dorothy

    ***Your niece wrote that all by herself – no help at all – as a way to tell you that you make her happy, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

