Still a rookie

Last week things were going pretty well and though I was cautious about things, I was at least cautiously optimistic.  It’s funny how all it takes is one bad weekend to derail everything and knock you back to square one.

I had been planning on getting two more runs in last week, including a long run of 7 to 9 miles.  I didn’t manage to do it, and instead finished the week with two runs.  A total of eight miles.  Oh well, at least that’s eight more than zero.

At this point, I’m fifteen weeks away from the Philadelphia marathon, so I figured I might as well just stick with an old standard when it comes to training plans.  This guy hasn’t let me down before, and I’ve been pleased with my results in the past.  Plus I feel like if I try to do anything more than this, I’m setting myself up to fail.  And the whole point of things these days is to avoid doing that at all costs.

So without further ado, ladies and gentlemen, I give you my training plan.

I don’t know why I always feel sort of lame for using this plan.  I guess because it’s designed for people who have never run a marathon before, and I kind of think I should be doing better than this.  But the fact of the matter is, I’m not ready for anything else right now.  And that’s fine.

In the future, I might take Lindsay‘s suggestion of a winter marathon.  Maybe the one in Disney World.

6 comments

  1. hey, I think the Disney World option is an excellent one. Plus, sometimes the oldies (as regards training plans in this specific instance) are the goodies, if you know what I mean. I’m sure many agree. Whatever works! By the way, this past weekend was excrutiating temperature-wise, and I really think that people that run in hot weather are just people who like to run in heat and humidity. I don’t know about you, but I am definitely not one of them!

  2. Hey, recognize what you are ready for and embrace it… if the plan works for you then you might as well go with it. If the plan is too scary, overwhelming then it obviously isn’t going to work for you! Good job on picking a plan! It’s still a solid plan that will get you there !

  3. Hey if the plan works, then why fix it right? There are always future races to make changes to. And if you don’t feel challenged on this one, I’m sure pushing an extra mile or two won’t hurt. Anyways, good luck with the training!

  4. disney is an awesome race. very fun and easy to take ‘lightly’ instead of having to be so competitive (with yourself). i definitely recommend it 🙂

    it sounds like you have a good plan set up. nothing wrong with still using the same plan – you know your training best and what you are ready for. you are already beating the majority of the world by simply getting up and running!

  5. I am so late chiming in here . . . SORRY!! But seriously, there is absolutely nothing wrong with going with an oldie but goodie. The past couple training cycles I’ve gotten a bit too ambitious, and ended up exhausted and having to scale back down to my “oldie” beginner training plan. Having to do that in the middle of a training cycle is a bit of a confidence killer, let me tell ya. So, I think it’s great that you are recognizing and admitting what you are ready for at the very beginning. At some point, we’ll both be ready to step it up . . . I promise 😉

Leave a Reply

