Unintended rest day

Lately I’ve been on a pretty good roll–even though a few of my runs have been ugh-worthy, I have been really consistent about training.  This has helped me to maintain a better mood, and I have really been enjoying the frequent workouts.  Unfortunately, today I had to take a rest day.  It’s not that big a deal, because I can easily rearrange my workouts slightly so that I don’t miss anything.  It just makes me feel like this 😦

Instead of focusing on that, though, I’ll tell you about my run yesterday.  Since my training schedule is a little light on running mileage, I tend to incorporate the key elements of the running workouts into a longer run.  For instance, Monday, as well as yesterday, my training plan called for short runs that consisted of a warm-up, two fast miles at a tempo pace, and a cool-down.  So what I tried to do both of those days was make sure I did two miles at a faster pace in the run I was doing.  Obviously Monday things didn’t work out that well, although I did keep an eye on my watch for two miles and noticed that they were faster than I would have run them otherwise (so it’s still a win, I say!).  Yesterday, though, was much better!  In fact, it was so much better that I ran a loop of the park (~6.8 miles) at an 8:54/mile pace.  Although I didn’t focus specifically on a two mile stretch of the run, I think the overall pace should make up for that.  So I say that’s still a win, too!

After the runs I had on Saturday and Monday, I think it goes without saying that the run I had yesterday was just what I needed and completely rejuvenating.  So much so that I couldn’t wait to run today.  I should have gone in the morning, but I didn’t because it was raining and I got a slow start.  Then my stomach decided to get upset.  And my head decided to hurt.  And my breathing decided to not work all that well.  My body just ganged up on me!  Hence the unintended rest.  It’s okay, though, because the excitement of yesterday’s run hasn’t really worn off and I really can’t wait to go tomorrow.  What’s really funny is that after feeling really sluggish and like I was pushing to maintain my pace on Saturday and Monday, yesterday’s sub-9:00/mile pace felt so comfortable and exactly right.  I’m hoping I can work in some more runs like that and get used to training at a pace that is closer to this than the 9:20/mile that I’ve been hovering at for a while.  I know it won’t happen overnight, but enjoying it so much yesterday made me really want to push harder to see what I can do.

So that’s me, folks.  In slight discomfort for the moment, but looking forward to tomorrow (and for more than just the reasons I mentioned in this post, but that will have to wait for another day.  Ha, I’m not going to give everything away at once!).  And, in a way, I guess that’s the way a rest day should feel (without the discomfort, I should add).  Sort of “absence makes the heart grow fonder”-esque.  I can appreciate that.

6 comments

  1. It sounds like your body was sending you a message, huh? Take today off! Nothing wrong with that. Remind me, when is the tri?

    Wait a minute! Big announcement coming?

  2. Ha I’m with ya – had some runs that were “ugh worthy”. took a few days off and it did wonders!! Even though I feel “ugh” on those days too, it makes a big difference to just let your legs relax and rejuvenate. 🙂 hope you have a good run tomorrow too!

  3. I can’t wait to find out what the other reason you were looking forward to tomorrow could be! You know, the one you said could wait for another day. You have piqued my curiosity…

  4. i think we all know the feeling of disappointment about a “0” mile day, but it sounds like your body needed some rest! hope you are feeling better. nice job pushing the pace earlier this week!

Leave a Reply

