Breakfast rut

As you all know, I like to eat in a pretty healthy way.  I say “pretty healthy” because I definitely have my lapses, but happily those times are fewer and farther between these days.  My big problem is that once I find a few meals that work, I tend to stick with those.  I sort of find a safety zone and then hesitate to leave it.  This happens less with lunch and dinner, where I tend to look for more recipes and try to aim for a bit more variety.  Breakfast, however, is a different story.  Generally, eating the same thing over and over is alright with me.  But lately I’ve been getting a little tired of my daily bowl of oatmeal.  Here’s the thing: oatmeal has a huge amount of appeal because it is quick and easy to make (microwave, about five minutes total), it is great for you, it keeps you full for a long time, and you can pretty much put anything in it that you want.  I like to add nut butter, fruit (usually a banana but sometimes a pear, berries, or peach slices), flax seed, and protein powder.  It’s pretty delicious.  But at this point not only am I getting a little burned out on oatmeal, it is getting way too warm outside for oatmeal (and coffee, and I don’t want to give that up.  And I’m not a fan of iced coffee.  So the oatmeal is the candidate for replacement).  So I’m curious–I know you’re all healthy people and that you’re eating breakfast (right?), so I’d like to hear what you all eat.  Inspire me!  Or at least share your ideas 🙂

In other news, I had yet another lackluster run yesterday.  It was a bit faster than previous runs (average 9:10/mile or so) but such a struggle the entire time!  I was running with a partner and had it not been for that fact, I think I would have bailed within the first five minutes.  I didn’t get to the point of crying about it the way I did with Sunday’s run, but it was still pretty frustrating.  Oh well.  I keep telling myself this pattern can’t last forever.  I’m sure there are better runs coming soon!

6 comments

  1. There’s something about breakfast that makes having the same thing over and over again tolerable. In fact, it’s not only tolerable; sometimes it is required because it’s the start of the day and often you are in a hurry and you don’t want to spend time creating something new every day. But it’s also palatable to have the same 2-3 breakfasts over and over again whereas with lunch or dinner you want something different. One of my favorite breakfasts is a bowl of cold cereal – you have to find something you really like. I get this Strawberry Fields stuff that they have at Trader Joes and Whole Foods. It’s delicious and pretty healthy. I also just pretty much go through the whole food pyramid thing meaning I try to incorporate a dairy (which is actually vanilla soymilk so it’s not really dairy), a protein (cottage cheese but you could do veggie bacon), a fruit serving, and a slice of whole grain toast. Delicious, healthy, and satisfying. I have been eating that particular breakfast for years! I alternate it with another fave breakfast. You just need to think about what you are in the mood for and try to add a new favorite breakfast to your daily regimen.

  2. i’d say cereal too… then you can still add your own fruits. it’s hard to find another quick and easy replacement for oatmeal! have you thought about frap’s instead of hot coffee?

  3. I don’t know if this is too similar to get you out of the rut, but I really like uncooked oatmeal. Oatmeal + milk + 5 to 10 minutes in the fridge. I usually add fruit or sometimes nuts to mine also.

  4. The good runs will come–just keep with it 🙂 I know what you mean by lackluster runs–it seems like I was in a rut for such a long time.

    I usually eat what the general public might conceive as a “healthier option” for breakfast but not exactly what true health nuts would think of as healthy. LOL. I end up with a whole grain cereal like Honey Nut Chex. Sometimes it is Honey Bunches of Oats which definetly tops the “unhealthier of the ‘healthy’ cereals”. But I enjoy it and if I had to count every single piece of wheat, protein,iron, sugar, etc. in my diet–I think I’d go nuts. So I allow myself breakfast to just eat a cereal I like.

  5. I like to rock the banana and a peanut butter sandwich… I am not that creative when it comes to food and I tend to be lazy. It keeps me going well enough.

  6. Whoa! Banana and peanut butter sandwich! That’s the best there is! Bananas are the ultimate food, although lately I have been subbing soy nut butter for peanut butter because my granddaughter is allergic to peanuts. And I have to say, soy nut butter is not the same. Go PB!

Leave a Reply

