Triathlon horizon

I’m still getting used to the fact that it’s June.  For some reason, it just doesn’t feel right!  And it’s been June for a week now…I guess I’ll feel a bit more June-y in a couple days.

Of course, this also means that the triathlon is less than two months away!  Every time I think about that, I get a little bit short of breath.  I mean, more so than usual, since my anxiety-related breathing issues seem to have moved in and decided to stay a while.  I’m still terrified about the open water swim, and I still have so many questions about how it all works, as far as apparel and fueling and transitions and things go.  Oh well, in due time.

I haven’t talked much about the training, though, so I thought I would do that in this post.  I’ve been following a training plan through Active.com that I signed up for (it was free!) when I registered for the triathlon.  Overall, I’ve been happy with it, and I’m glad I did it since I wouldn’t really know what to look for if I were to just sort of sift through training plans available on the internet.  Predictably, each week involves running, biking, and swimming.  There are also weight training workouts.  And one rest day.  So far, I haven’t really been asked to repeat an activity twice in a row, and the workouts themselves are fairly interesting (they mix it up, too, so that one day you might bike at a steady pace, and your next bike workout will be a little bit harder).  With so much variety, it’s hard to get bored.  Honestly, though, I haven’t done any of the weight workouts.  In fact, I haven’t done any weight lifting since I finished the 30-day Shred and started the next 30-day challenge.  Oops.  More on that later, though.

One thing that I’ve found sort of disappointing, though, is the fact that there have been a few weeks when I’ve only had one running workout on the agenda.  During those weeks, I’ve done additional runs and ended up doing more than I’m supposed to, which I don’t think is too much of a problem (it hasn’t been so far, anyway).  But it’s been hard for me to accept that there are weeks where I should be limiting myself to 4 miles (approximately) in my running shoes.  Even when I add additional runs, I only end up around 15 miles on foot, which makes me a little sad.  I just wish I were running more, but I think that has more to do with the fact that I never feel like I’m doing anything if I’m not running.  It’s like nothing else counts as a workout.  It’s silly, I know.  And the funniest thing is that it’s pretty likely that if I were supposed to be running more, I’d probably be resisting it!  Nothing like being told you shouldn’t do something (even if it’s just implied) to get you to do it!

Also, speaking of running: I seem to be stuck at one pace.  It seems like no matter how I feel (whether it’s good or bad), when I get home and calculate my pace while logging my workout on Daily Mile the result is an (apparently) inevitable 9:20 or so.  I should be happy, since not too long ago, that would have been a 9:45 or a 10:00 (and there are times when it still is) but I’m not sure why even when I feel like I’m pushing hard, I still end up with the same pace.  It’s weird.

I know this is a pretty boring post, and I’ll have more interesting stuff to say at some point when I am less tired.  I promise!

3 comments

  1. it’s not boring! It’s great to hear how it’s going – I’ve been waiting to hear all about it and I am sure a few others have too! I think that’s pretty interesting about how you feel sad that you’re not running more – I guess baby you were born to run.

  2. i get anxious just thinking about swimming in a lane with someone else so i think i feel ya on the open water swim! i’ve heard about some people doing a simulation at the pool – circle swimming. maybe you could ask the pool if that’s ever available (when the lane buoys are gone)?

    also, i wouldn’t be too down on your pace. first of all, ~40 sec/mile improvement! nice! and second, like you said you haven’t been spending as much time on your feet. i’m no triathlete but i imagine all the cross-training would result in better running when/if you put more focus on it?

    seems like the bumminess is spreading around, hang in there!

    oh ps – i totally suck at sticking to weight regimes.

  3. I think it’s the constantly crappy, rainy weather that’s making it not seem like June . . . I’m struggling with that too!

    Also, I feel like I would really miss running too if I were training for a triathlon . . . I’m not sure why, but I feel like I would just freak out if I couldn’t make it the focus of my training! So, I hear you on that one! Maybe throwing in some extra easy miles isn’t that big of a deal, though, as long as it’s not affecting your other workouts?

    Anyway, keep us updated! I am very interested in hearing about what the workouts are and how they’re going! 🙂

Leave a Reply

