Young woman blues

You might not know it from reading this blog, but I try to remain sort of upbeat when it comes to content.  Surprised?  I probably would be, given the fact that looking back, I feel like most of what I write is whiny and negative.  Sorry.  I know that can’t be any fun to read.

Anyway, I also feel like my posting has been a little erratic lately.  I’ve actually been going through a rather rough depression.  Some of you may be wondering how this is different from my usual rose-colored glasses self.  Well, maybe it’s not much different.  Maybe I’m in a perpetual state of depression.  I don’t know.  At any rate, I just know that last week was pretty unpleasant and extremely unproductive, which means this week needs to be better.  Of course, as I write this, I’m feeling sort of blue and trying to figure out how I’m ever going to get up the courage to go running again.

My goal is, really, to make this week a better one than the last, which means eating well (I sort of fell off the wagon last week, having left town.  I didn’t do poorly, but I didn’t do as well as I would have liked–fewer veggies and fruits, more stuff I don’t normally eat, like Chinese take-out with lots of white rice), getting back to training for the triathlon, and trying to maintain a positive attitude.

What I really feel like saying is I feel like every other week I am writing (or stating in one form or another), “Oh, I need to start over; last week/yesterday/last month/whatever period of time was bad, and I am hoping this upcoming [period of time] will be better.”  And I kind of feel like every time I try to make things better, I fail.  Or it doesn’t really last.  And then I think, at one point do I just give up?  I honestly don’t know.  I guess that means that that point hasn’t come yet.  Anyway, here’s to a better week.

7 comments

  1. yes, here is to a better week! That’s what life is all about – looking ahead to something better! If everything were already great, what would there be to strive for! I’m glad you haven’t reached that point where you just give up – don’t do that!

  2. I think it’s universal… you’re expressing it for me too, except the young girl part- and thanks for paraphrasing Mose Allison.

  3. to a new week! i fall off the wagon like an expert, so i think i know where you are. brush off the past week/incidents and start fresh today. none of this “i’ll start next week” business! get out there and run (/workout) for 10 minutes, chances are you’ll feel more ‘in the mood’ and will go a little longer and a little longer. 🙂

  4. well, fortunately/unfortunately, depending on how you choose to look at it, you never give up. especially running, since you enjoy running. you also feel really good after completing races, so you have that to look forward to. and since you’ve never done a triathalon, you can’t compare how you do to anything and potentially feel bad, so that’s another thing to look forward to.

    but then we have to do something scary, which is look at the rest our lives. what am i looking forward to? is it within reach? am i taking steps towards it? i don’t know about you, but i’ve been doing that a lot lately and not been feeling very good about it. maybe you and me need to take an impulsive vacation to somewhere awesome, sunny, and cheap.

Leave a Reply

